2nd Joint ILIAS-CAST-CERN axion Training Workshop 2006

Europe/Zurich
Conference Center (University of Patras)

Conference Center

University of Patras

University of Patras Rio, 26500 Patras Greece
    • 09:00 13:20
      Thursday morning session
    • 09:00 09:10
      Welcome 10m
      Vassilis Anastassopoulos Head of the Physics Department, University of Patras
    • 09:10 09:20
      Introduction 10m
      Konstantin Zioutas University of Patras zioutas@physics.upatras.gr
      Slides
    • 09:20 10:40
      Ultra-Cold Neutrons (UCN) and Searches for an Electric Dipole Moment (EDM) 1h 20m
      Peter Geltenbort ILL / Grenoble geltenbort@ill.fr
      Paper
    • 10:40 11:00
      Cafe break 20m
    • 11:00 12:00
      The Search for Axion dark matter 1h
      Pierre Sikivie University of Florida & CERN sikivie@phys.ufl.edu
    • 12:00 13:20
      Selected Topics in Experimental Searches for Axions 1h 20m
      Frank Avignone III University South Carolina avignone@physics.sc.edu
    • 13:20 14:50
      Lunch break 1h 30m
    • 14:50 19:25
      Thursday afternoon session
    • 14:50 15:30
      Exotic Axion Cosmologies 40m
      Kathryn Zurek University of Washington Association zurkat@u.washington.edu
    • 15:30 16:10
      MicroMEGAS for Axion Detection 40m
      Ioannis Giomataris Saclay ioa@hep.saclay.cea.fr
    • 16:10 16:55
      Probing the quantum vacuum with polarized light: a low energy photon-photon collider at PVLAS 45m
      Giovanni Cantatore University & INFN / Trieste giovanni.cantatore@ts.infn.it
      Slides
    • 16:55 17:10
      Cafe break 15m
    • 17:10 17:40
      Laser-based Experiments using LHC Superconducting Dipoles for Axion Search at CERN 30m
      Pierre Pugnat CERN Pierre.Pugnat@cern.ch
      Slides
    • 17:40 18:00
      Laboratory and Astrophysical Tests of Vacuum Magnetism: the BMV Project 20m
      Carlo Rizzo Université Paul Sabatier / Toulouse carlo.rizzo@irsamc.ups-tlse.fr
      Slides
    • 18:00 18:25
      Manipulating the Polarization of Laser-beams by an External Magnetic Field 25m
      Yannis Semertzidis BNL yannis@bnl.gov
      Slides
    • 18:25 18:45
      CAST Phase I 20m
      Julia Vogel Universität Freiburg vogel@axfr01.physik.uni-freiburg.de
      Slides
    • 18:45 18:55
      Coherent scattering of Axions 10m
      E.A.Paschos University of Dortmund email:paschos@physik.uni-dortmund.de
    • 18:55 19:05
      Scalar Particles in Cosmology 10m
      Metin Arık Boğaziçi University metin.arik@boun.edu.tr
      Slides
    • 19:05 19:25
      High Energy Axion Detection and the CAST Calorimeter 20m
      David Miller University of Chicago David.W.Miller@cern.ch
      Slides
    • 19:25 19:26
      End of the first day 1m
    • 09:00 14:20
      Friday morning session
    • 09:00 10:30
      Axion physics: what is new ? 1h 30m
      Eduard Massó Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona masso@ifae.es
      Slides
    • 10:30 11:30
      The Need For Purely Laboratory-Based Axion-Like Particle Searches 1h
      Andreas Ringwald DESY andreas.ringwald@desy.de
      Slides
    • 11:30 11:50
      Cafe break 20m
    • 11:50 13:20
      Multilayer optics for EUV/X-ray solar physics 1h 30m
      Regina Soufli LLNL regina.soufli@llnl.gov
    • 13:20 14:20
      Axions in Extra Dimensions 1h
      Emilian Dudas Ecole Polytechnique & CERN dudas@cpht.polytechnique.fr
    • 14:20 15:50
      Lunch break 1h 30m
    • 15:50 19:25
      Friday afternoon session
    • 15:50 16:20
      Probing the Existence of Axions with the Polarization of Objects at Cosmological Distances 30m
      Damien Hutsemekers Institut d'Astrophysique, Université de Liège hutsemekers@astro.ulg.ac.be
      Slides
    • 16:20 16:40
      Coherence Effects in Axion-to-Photon Oscillations 20m
      Yannis Semertzidis BNL yannis@bnl.gov
      Slides
    • 16:40 17:00
      LIPSS (LIght Pseudoscalar Particle Search): Plans and Status 20m
      Keith Baker Hampton University & Jefferson Laboratory baker@jlab.org
      Slides
    • 17:00 17:20
      Cafe break 20m
    • 17:20 17:40
      Potential for KK-Axion Detection with DRIFT 20m
      Eirini Tziaferi University of Sheffield E.Tziaferi@sheffield.ac.uk
      Slides
    • 17:40 18:25
      Spaceborne X-ray Observations of the Sun and Sky Background:Analysis of Data from the X-ray Solar Monitor onboard SMART-1 45m
      Juhani Huovelin Observatory, University of Helsinki juhani.huovelin@helsinki.fi
      Slides
    • 18:25 18:55
      Signatures of ~axions in Astrophysical Observations 30m
      Konstantin Zioutas University of Patras zioutas@physics.upatras.gr
      Slides
    • 18:55 19:15
      Astroparticle Physics showing the way for Open Access publishing of Data and Literature 20m
      Jens Vigen CERN Jens.vigen@cern.ch
      Slides
    • 19:15 19:25
      Conclusions 10m
      Konstantin Zioutas University of Patras zioutas@physics.upatras.gr
      Slides
    • 19:25 19:26
      End of Workshop 1m
    • 19:27 19:28
      Diner 1m