Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Precise timing measurements with a 10x10 cm2 tileable PICOSEC Micromegas detector module

Feb 25, 2022, 2:25 PM
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Live Presentation Gaseous Detectors Gas and Cherenkov Timing


Antonija Utrobicic (CERN)


The PICOSEC Micromegas (MM) precise timing detectors offer precise timing on the order of tens of ps by coupling a Cherenkov radiator with a photocathode and a MM amplification structure. Time resolution below 25 ps for MIPs was demonstrated with single-channel prototypes. Recent developments towards instrumenting larger detection areas with precise timing PICOSEC detectors include multi-channel tileable detector modules, resistive MM, alternative photocathode materials, and custom readout electronics.
Timing performance for signals shared across multiple pads was confirmed to be comparable to single-channel results in a previous multi-pad prototype with corrections for non-uniformity of the preamplification gap. A fully tileable 100-ch, 100 cm$^2$ detector prototype based on the rigid ceramics/FR4 substrate was commissioned. Test beam campaigns showed improvement of the timing response uniformity reaching 26 ps pad level time resolution.
Different readout options including custom preamplifiers and fast charge-sensitive preamplifiers together with digitisation with SAMPIC were investigated to enable readout of 100-ch modules.
The scalability to large detection areas, excellent timing resolution, and flexibility in readout granularity which can enable spatial resolution make PICOSEC Micromegas detectors an attractive technology for precise timing detector systems as well as fast photon detectors.

Primary experiment RD51 PICOSEC MicroMegas Collaboration

Primary author


Stephan Aune (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Ioanis Giomataris (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Jona Bortfeldt (Ludwig Maximilians Universitat (DE)) Florian Maximilian Brunbauer (CERN) Georgios Fanourakis (Nat. Cent. for Sci. Res. Demokritos (GR)) Michele Gallinaro (LIP Lisbon) Francisco Ignacio Garcia Fuentes (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI)) Francisco Jose Iguaz Gutierrez (IRFU/CEA-Saclay) Kostas Kordas (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Christos Lampoudis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Philippe Legou (CEA Saclay DRF/IRFU) Marta Lisowska (Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay (FR)) Jianbei Liu (University of Science and Technology of China (CN)) Michael Lupberger (University of Bonn) Ioannis Michail Maniatis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Hans Muller (University of Bonn (DE)) Eraldo Oliveri (CERN) Thomas Papaevangelou (Irfu, CEA, Université Paris-Saclay) Konstantinos Paraschou (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Binbin Qi (University of science and technology of China) Filippo Resnati (CERN) Leszek Ropelewski (CERN) Djunes Janssens (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (BE)) Dimos Sampsonidis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Lucian Scharenberg (CERN, University of Bonn (DE)) Thomas Schneider (CERN) Lukas Sohl (DESY) Miranda Van Stenis (CERN) Angelos Tsiamis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Yorgos Tsipolitis (National Technical Univ. of Athens (GR)) Spyros Tzamarias (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)) Rob Veenhof (Uludag University (TR)) Xu Wang (University of Science and Technology of China (CN)) Sebastian White (University of Virginia (US)) Zhiyong Zhang (University of Science and Technology of China (CN)) Yi Zhou (University of Science and Technology of China (CN)) Thomas Gustavsson (CEA/Saclay ) Mariam Kebbiri (CEA Saclay) Michal Pomorski (CEA-Saclay) Daniel Desforge (CEA Saclay) Maillard Olivier (CEA-Saclay)

Presentation materials