Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Development of CMOS Pixel Sensor prototypes for the CEPC vertex detector

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Recorded Presentation Semiconductor Detectors


Ying Zhang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN))


The proposed Circular Electron Positron Collider (CEPC) imposes new challenges for the vertex detector in terms of material budget, spatial resolution, readout speed, and power consumption. The TaichuPix chip is a CMOS Pixel Sensor being developed to meet the highest hit rate (~10$^{7}$/cm$^2$/s) requirement of CEPC vertex detector. Two small scale prototypes capable of achieving a hit rate up to 36 MHz/cm$^2$, were developed in a 180 nm CMOS process. This talk presents the improvements on the design of in-pixel readout to achieve a pixel pitch of 25 $\mu$m and a fast readout capability of 40 MHz. Two new in-pixel digital readout designs, benefiting from the FE-I3 and ALPIDE approaches, have been implemented to achieve a fast readout. The readout of the pixel array is based on a new proposed “column-drain” architecture. Pixels are arranged in double columns, with priority encoder within column and timestamp recorded at the end of double column. All the double columns are read out in parallel, in order to minimize the dead time. When a hit is detected in one of the pixels, the end of column circuitry stores the time stamp with a resolution of 25 ns. The data whose timestamp matches with the trigger are buffered for transmission in the trigger mode. Two TaichuPix prototypes were characterized with electrical and radioactive sources in laboratory. The test results on the chip functionality and the noise and threshold performance before and after ionizing radiation are reported.

Primary experiment CEPC

Primary author

Ying Zhang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN))


Wei Wei (IHEP, CAS, China) Tianya Wu (Institut de Fisica d'Altes Energies (IFAE)(ES)) Xiaomin WEI Xiaoting Li (IHEP, CAS, China) Liang ZHANG (Shandong University) Jia Wang (NWPU, China) Jianing Dong (SDU, China) Raimon Casanovad (IFAE) Zhijun Liang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Sebastian Grinstein (IFAE - Barcelona (ES)) Joao Barreiro Guimaraes Da Costa (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN))

Presentation materials