Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Fast technique based on transient optical absorption exploited to qualify LYSO:Ce crystals for CMS Barrel Timing Layer

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Recorded Presentation Photon Detectors


Dr Saulius Nargelas (Vilnius University (LT))


The current upgrade of CMS Barrel Timing Layer puts forward a demand for a fast screening of materials to test the prospective scintillators, select the best crystal providers, and monitor the quality of the provided crystals in view of their timing properties. We report on a novel contactless method based on the transient optical absorption monitored in sub-picosecond domain in pump and probe configuration. The method is tested by comparing with the coincidence time resolution measurements, which are currently conventional but require sample mounting on silicon photodetectors and advanced readout electronics making the measurements time-consuming and difficult to compare. The method is based on the excitation of a scintillating material by a femtosecond laser pulse and probing the population of the emitting centers, Ce3+ ions in LYSO in our study, by a probe beam. The figure of merit to estimate the timing properties of LYSO:Ce is specified. The Pierson’s coefficient of 0.95 for the correlation of the figure of merit with the CTR values in a set of high quality LYSO:Ce samples with the CTR values ranging from 80 to 100ps indicates the reliability of the method. The method has a great potential to become a routine procedure for scintillator characterization, as the time required to characterize a sample is less than 0.5 hour and repeatability is high.

Primary experiment Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS)

Primary author

Dr Saulius Nargelas (Vilnius University (LT))


Etiennette Auffray Hillemanns (CERN) Ioan Dafinei (Sapienza Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Stefan Gundacker (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Mikhail Korjik (Byelorussian State University (BY)) Nicolaus Kratochwil (CERN) Marco Toliman Lucchini (Università & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Gintautas Tamulaitis (Vilnius University (LT)) Yauheni Talochka (Byelorussian State University (BY)) Riccardo Paramatti (Univ. Sapienza and INFN Roma) Vitaly Mechinsky (Byelorussian State University (BY)) Augustas Vaitkevičius (Vilnius University)

Presentation materials