MAP-Fis Research Conference

University of Minho, University of Aveiro, University of Porto

University of Minho, University of Aveiro, University of Porto

Antonio Luis Ferreira (University of Aveiro), Antonio Onofre (Universidade do Minho/CFUMUP,LIP), Joao Lopes dos Santos (University of Porto)

The Research Conference  of the Joint PhD Programmes of the University of Minho, University of Aveiro and University of Porto (MAP-fis), was held for the first time in January 2009. The conference counts with the participation of students, teachers, researchers and supervisors from the three universities involved in the MAP-fis joint doctoral programme, focusing on its general research topics i.e., Optics and Photonics, Condensed Matter Physics, High Energy Physics and Cosmology, Theoretical and Computational Physics, Meteorology and Oceanography.

MAP-Fis Conference 2021 Registration Form
  • Aaditya Salgarkar
  • Ana Peixoto
  • Ana Sousa
  • André Miguel Pereira
  • Anita Camillini
  • Antonio Onofre
  • António Antunes
  • António Ferreira
  • Armando Neves
  • Bernardo Almeida
  • Bruna Silva
  • Bruno Murta
  • Carlos Brites
  • Carlos Diogo Monteiro Fernandes
  • Carolina Viceto
  • Celso Ferreira
  • Cátia Rodrigues
  • Daniel Brito
  • Diana Meira
  • Elisabete M. S. Castanheira
  • Ernesto Galvão
  • Fernando Maturi
  • Filipa Peres
  • Filipe Barroso
  • Gonçalo Catarina
  • Guilherme Guedes
  • Guilherme Machado
  • Henrique Teixeira
  • Irina Gorodetskaya
  • Ivo Sengo
  • Joana Martins
  • Joana Ribeiro
  • Joana Silva
  • Joao Ventura
  • Joel Borges
  • Jorge Laranjeira
  • José Caiongo Chibaca
  • José Guimarães
  • José Luís Santos
  • João Dias
  • João Henriques
  • João Lopes dos Santos
  • João Miguel Araújo Vilas Boas
  • João Oliveira
  • João Pedro dos Santos Pires
  • Luisa Pimentel
  • Luís Carlos
  • Manuel Marques
  • Marco Rodrigues
  • Margarida Maia
  • Maria Manuela Proença
  • Mariana Gomes
  • Maurício Quintela
  • Niaz Ali Khan
  • Nuno Castro
  • Nuno Peres
  • Patrícia Silva
  • Paulo Marques
  • Pedro Alpuim
  • Pedro Jorge
  • Rafael Wagner
  • Ricardo Dias
  • Ricardo Magalhães
  • Rodolfo Rodrigues Nunes da Silva
  • Rui Silva
  • Simão João
  • Sofia Ferreira Teixeira
  • Sofia Zanella
  • Sérgio Veloso
  • Tiago Ferreira
  • Tiago Queirós
  • Yuliy Bludov
    • 9:00 AM 9:15 AM
      Convener: Prof. Joao Lopes dos Santos (University of Porto)
    • 9:15 AM 10:35 AM
      Quantum Information and Theory
      • 9:15 AM
        Understanding limitations of linear-optical quantum computation 20m
        Speaker: Carlos Diogo Monteiro Fernandes (Universidade do Minho)
      • 9:35 AM
        Implementing Non-Unitary Operators on Quantum Computers to Prepare 20m
        Speaker: Bruno Murta (Universidade do Minho / INL)
      • 9:55 AM
        Single Photons On-Demand from a 2D Material Heterostructure 20m
        Speaker: Tiago Queirós (Universidade do Minho, INL)
      • 10:15 AM
        Reprogrammable and reconfigurable photonic molecular logic gates based on Ln3+ ions 20m
        Speaker: Sofia Zanella (CICECO-Aveiro Institute of Materials, Physics Department, University of Aveiro)
    • 10:35 AM 11:00 AM
      Coffee Break
    • 11:00 AM 12:40 PM
      Biophysics and Biomaterials
      • 11:00 AM
        Microfluidics for size-controlled cationic liposome-DNA complexes (first stage) 20m
        Speaker: Celso Ferreira (UMinho & INL)
      • 11:20 AM
        Development of Nanoplasmonic Thin Film Biosensors with Enhanced Sensitivity for Detection of Ochratoxin-A 20m
        Speaker: Diana Meira (University of Minho)
      • 11:40 AM
        Hyperspectral Microscopy for Molecular Thermometry 20m
        Speaker: Rodolfo Rodrigues Nunes da Silva (University of Aveiro)
      • 12:00 PM
        MagMed - Novel Magnetic Nanostructures as Multimodal Nanocarriers for Cancer Therapies 20m
        Speaker: Ricardo Magalhães (Institute of Physics for Advanced Materials, Nanotechnology and Photonics (IFIMUP))
      • 12:20 PM
        Development of multifunctional supramolecular magnetogels for multimodal cancer therapy 20m
        Speaker: Sérgio Veloso (Centre of Physics of Minho and Porto Universities)
    • 11:00 AM 12:40 PM
      Materials Science
      • 11:00 AM
        Conformal Regge Theory at higher points 20m
        Speaker: Aaditya Salgarkar (CFP Porto)
      • 11:20 AM
        Conformal Bootstrap near the Edge 20m
        Speaker: António Antunes (CFP - University of Porto)
      • 11:40 AM
        Band Spectrum Deformation due to Small Clusters of Atomic-Sized Impurities in Dirac-Weyl Semimetals 20m
        Speaker: João Pedro dos Santos Pires (Centro de Física das Universidades do Minho e Porto, University of Porto)
      • 12:00 PM
        Emergent correlated electronic phases in van der Waals heterostructures 20m
        Speaker: Gonçalo Catarina (INL)
      • 12:20 PM
        Phenomenology of Composite Higgs Models 20m
        Speaker: Guilherme Guedes (LIP and Universidade de Granada)
    • 12:40 PM 1:40 PM
    • 1:40 PM 3:20 PM
      Condensed Matter Physics and Nanomaterials
      • 1:40 PM
        Magnetoelectric spin-orbit MESO logic devices based on sputtered topological insulators 20m
        Speaker: Sofia Ferreira Teixeira (IFIMUP, FCUP)
      • 2:00 PM
        Au:CuO Nanocomposite Thin Films for Gas Sensing with High-Resolution Localized Surface Plasmon Resonance Spectroscopy 20m
        Speaker: Maria Manuela Proença (Universidade do Minho)
      • 2:20 PM
        Dielectric Properties of Multiferroic CoFe2O4\LiNbO3 Bilayer Composites 20m
        Speaker: João Oliveira (Universidade do Minho / INL)
      • 2:40 PM
        Growth of Ruddlesden–Popper Ca3Mn2O7 thin films prepared by Pulsed Laser Deposition 20m
        Speaker: Bruna Silva (University of Minho)
      • 3:00 PM
        Effect of Gallium and Indium Doping on structural and transport Properties of Bi2Se3 20m
        Speaker: Daniel Brito (INL)
    • 1:40 PM 3:20 PM
      Optics and New Materials
      • 1:40 PM
        C60 under extreme conditions of pressure 20m
        Speaker: Jorge Laranjeira (CICECO - Aveiro institute of materials)
      • 2:00 PM
        Reliable primary luminescent nanothermometers 20m
        Speaker: Joana Martins (Physics Department, University of Aveiro)
      • 2:20 PM
        Unveiling the weirdness of water 20m
        Speaker: Fernando Maturi (Department of Physics, University of Aveiro)
      • 2:40 PM
        Optical Analogues in Nematic Liquid Crystals 20m
        Speaker: Tiago Ferreira (INESC-TEC - CAP/ Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade do Porto Position:)
      • 3:00 PM
        Theory of third-order polarizability of interlayer excitons due to intra-excitonic energy level transitions 20m
        Speaker: Maurício Quintela (UMinho/INL)
    • 3:20 PM 3:40 PM
      Coffee Break
    • 3:40 PM 5:40 PM
      Physical Engineering
      • 3:40 PM
        Wireless Powered Sensing by Thermoelectric Devices 20m
        Speaker: Margarida Maia ( IFIMUP / FCUP)
      • 4:00 PM
        Online Coupled Atmospheric-aerosol Regional Forecast Model for Solar Energy Production 20m
        Speaker: Rui Silva (Department of Physics and Centre for Environmental and Marine Studies (CESAM), University of Aveiro)
      • 4:20 PM
        Thin, Lightweight, Flexible Metamaterials for Electromagnetic Interference Shielding 20m
        Speaker: Ana Sousa (IFIMUP)
      • 4:40 PM
        Triboelectric energy harvesting in remote and harsh environments: performance characterization and novel applications 20m
        Speaker: Cátia Rodrigues (IFIMUP / FCUP)
      • 5:00 PM
        Advanced Magnetostrictive Device for Non-Destructive Testing of Critical Assets 20m
        Speaker: Joana Silva (IFIMUP)
      • 5:20 PM
        Transparent Thermoelectric Titanium Dioxide-based Thin Films for thermal energy harvesting 20m
        Speaker: Joana Ribeiro (University of Minho)
    • 5:40 PM 5:50 PM
      Final Remarks