Report of the C20 Commission on Computational Physics

Commission members

Chair David P. Landau United States
Vice-Chair Mei-Yin Chou China (Taipei)
Secretary Lev Shchur Russian Federation

Member Richard Liska Czech Republic

Member Richard Liska Czech Republic Member Xiaoqun Wang China (Beijing)

Member Priya Mahadevan India

Member Regina Maphanga South Africa Member Georg Kresse Austria

Member Andrew Horsfield United Kingdom

MemberMaria-Roser ValentiGermanyMemberLaurette TuckermanFranceMemberSuklyun HongKoreaMemberDaniel VizmanRomaniaMemberYuan Ping FengSingapore

Associate Members

Hai-Qing Lin China
Joan Adler Israel
Bismarck Costa Brazil
Travis Humble U.S.A.

XXXII IUPAP International Conference on Computational Physics CCP2021

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the XXXII IUPAP International Conference on Computational Physics CCP2020, scheduled to be held in Coventry, UK from Aug.2-6, 2020, was rescheduled for 2021. After discussion with Martin Weigel, Chair of CCP2020 and Renata Wentzcovitch, Chair of the following meeting, the C20 Commission decided that the XXXII IUPAP International Conference on Computational Physics would be held in Coventry, UK in early August, 2021 as CCP2021, and the XXXIII IUPAP International Conference on Computational Physics would become CCP2022 to be held in Austin, TX U.S.A. in 2022. However, because of the continued pandemic, CCP2021 was held virtually, Aug. 1-5, 2021, with presentations made via Zoom and a virtual conference site with individual attendee avatars created using Gathertown.

2021 Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics

The winner of the 2020 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics was Prof. Prineha Narang (Harvard University) awarded by the C20 Commission on Computational Physics.

The Citation for her award is:

For her pioneering achievements in computational nanophotonics, quantum plasmonics and ab initio descriptions of ultrafast dynamics in quantum materials.

Normally, the medal and certificate would have been presented in person at the XXXII IUPAP International Conference on Computational Physics CCP2021; however, in this case the prize was presented virtually at CCP2021, along with the prize winner, Prof. Zhijun Wang for 2020, and the certificate(s) and medal(s) are being sent to the winner(s).

XXXIV IUPAP International Conference on Computational Physics CCP2023

Two excellent written proposals were received for holding CCP2023. One proposal was for holding the meeting in Seoul, Korea and the other proposal was for hosting the meeting in Kobe, Japan. Both documents were distributed to all C20 Commission members ahead of time, and Powerpoint presentations for each were made at a Zoom C20 Commission meeting held during CCP2021. After discussion the C20 Commission voted to hold CCP2023 in Kobe, Japan. The C20 Commission also encouraged the author of the proposal for Seoul, Korea to resubmit the proposal for consideration for CCP2026 by the new C20 Commission.

Respectfully submitted, David P. Landau Chair, C20 Commission September 27, 2021