Jun 3 – 5, 2022
Parador El Saler, Valencia, Spain
Europe/Zurich timezone

Nanocrystals for fast timing applications embedded in a polystyrene matrix

Jun 4, 2022, 12:30 PM
Parador El Saler, Valencia, Spain

Parador El Saler, Valencia, Spain


Katerina Decka (Czech Academy of Sciences (CZ))


Nanocrystals like ZnO:Ga or CsPbBr$_3$ were identified as potential scintillators for fast timing applications, including medical imaging techniques such as TOF-PET (time-of-flight positron emission tomography) or TOF-CT (time-of-flight computed tomography). Both feature sub-nanosecond scintillation decays which is a crucial property for this type of application.
However, such materials with desired properties are available either as a colloidal solution, or in powder form, and thus unsuitable as bulk scintillating detectors with sufficient ruggedness. Therefore, the small-sized materials need to be incorporated into a suitable matrix, improving their durability, applicability, absorption of radiation or light extraction efficiency.
We will present our recent progress with ZnO:Ga and CsPbBr$_3$ nanocrystals embedded in a polymer matrix. The main focus will be kept on nanocomposites using CsPbBr$_3$ nanocrystals because we recently characterized their timing capability with a unique novel setup coupled to analog Silicon Photomultipliers and low energy X-ray excitation. This allowed for the characterization of low-stopping power scintillator, such as low-filling (up to 10 %) of nanocrystals in a polystyrene matrix.
Even though the nanocomposite samples of CsPbBr$_3$ in polystyrene were not fully optimized, a more than twofold better time resolution with respect to conventional LYSO:Ce was achieved for the low-energy X-rays. Our study represents a promising starting point for the optimization of such nanocomposites towards their use in TOF-PET or TOF-CT.

Primary authors

Katerina Decka (Czech Academy of Sciences (CZ)) Lenka Prouzova Prochazkova (Czech technical university in Prague)


Mr Jan Kral (Czech Technical University in Prague) Fiammetta Pagano (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Isabel Frank (Ludwig Maximilians Universitat (DE)) Nicolaus Kratochwil (CERN) Eva Mihokova (Institute of Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences) Etiennette Auffray Hillemanns (CERN) Václav Čuba (Czech Technical University in Prague)

Presentation materials