Oct 2 – 7, 2022
Orto Botanico - Padova, Italy
Europe/Zurich timezone

NIBS Award

The NIBS Award, donated by D-Pace Inc. is for outstanding recent contributions to the fields of: physics, theory, technology and/or applications of sources, low energy beam transport, or diagnostics of negative ions.

The International Program Committee chooses the winning nomination and the award is announced at the conference banquet.

 The first NIBS Award was presented at the NIBS`14 Symposium in Garching to the IPP plasma physics group for their outstanding work on large negative ion sources, including the recent ELISE test rig.

 The 2016 NIBS Award was presented to the world leading Japanese team of Tsumori, Takeiri, Ikeda, and Nakano from the National Institute for Fusion Science and SOKENDAI Graduate University for Advanced Studies, for “significant contributions in many areas of negative ion based neutral beam injectors; diagnostics and physics of the beam source, technological and theoretical aspects of beam sources and their application to neutral beam injectors”.

The 2018 NIBS Award was presented to Dr. Anatoli Zelenski from Brookhaven National Laboratory (USA) and Prof. Vladimir Davydenko, Prof. Aleksandr Ivanov, and Mr. Anton Kolmogorov from the Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics (Russia) for excellent work on the development of the high-intensity polarized H⁻ ion source for RHIC SPIN physics.