May 30, 2022 to June 1, 2022
Duinse Polders
Europe/Brussels timezone

Welcome to the Nederlandse Astronomenconferentie 2022
May 30 - June 1 2022

The 77th Dutch Astronomers' Conference (“Nederlandse Astronomenconferentie”) was organized by the Sterrenkundig Observatorium of Ghent University under the auspices of the Koninklijke Nederlandse Astronomenclub/Royal Netherlands Astronomical Society (KNA/RNAS) and was held in Blankenberge, a very popular holiday destination on the Belgian seaside, from the 30th of May to the 1st of June 2022.

The final timetable can be found in the menu to the left.

The conference was held at Duinse Polders, a seaside holiday centre.

SOC (in collaboration with the NOVA networks)

  • Sven De Rijcke (UGent)

  • Hans Van Winckel (KULeuven) 

  • Caroline Straatman (UGent)
  • Jérémy Chastenet (UGent)
  • Angelos Nersesian (UGent)
  • Nina Sartorio (UGent)
  • Ignas Snellen (Leiden University, NL)


  • Sven De Rijcke 
  • Maarten Baes 
  • Arjen van der Wel 
  • Ilse De Looze 
  • Jérémy Chastenet
  • Angelos Nersesian
  • Brian Van Den Noortgaete (ICT)
  • Inge van der Vennet (secretary)

Willem de Graaffprijs

The Willem de Graaffprijs is granted every 3 years to a professional astronomer or space researcher, who has contributed in an extraordinary way to the popularization of astronomy and/or space research.
In 2007 the prize was awarded to prof. dr. John Heise, in 2010 to prof. dr. Vincent Icke, in 2013 to prof. dr. Peter Barthel, in 2016 to Dr. Joeri van Leeuwen and in 2019 to dr. Sera Markoff. The 2022 de Graaff prize was awarded to dr. Marc Klein-Wolt.
More information about this prize can be found here.

Pastoor Schmeitsprijs

The Pastoor Schmeitsprijs is awarded every three years by the association "Pastoor Schmeitsprijs voor Sterrekunde" (founded in 1978) with the aim of stimulating the study of astronomy, through awarding astronomers with great merit.
The prize is awarded to astronomers with the Dutch nationality or inhabiting the Netherlands, with an outstanding astronomical publication in the last five years and is worth 1500 euros. This year, the prize was awarded to dr. Diederik Kruijssen.
More information about this prize can be found here.

Duinse Polders
Ruzettenlaan 195 B-8370 Blankenberge Belgium
Go to map