January 20, 2022 to December 31, 2023
Europe/Zurich timezone

Terms of References (ToR)


The ASI Committee (ASICom) is mandated by the African Academy of sciences (AAS) to coordinate and drive the initiative of paving the road to the establishment of the African Synchrotron Radiation Facility. The committee will be relying on inputs from the community in Africa and on interactions with the international experts in order to create the optimal synergies for establishing a project for an African Synchrotron Radiation Facility.

The ASICom has a two-year mandate and its membership is formed from worldwide physicists and synchrotron facilities experts. The ASICom may appoint Associated Members and Observers.

Beyond the Terms of Reference of ASI, the Statutes of the AAS shall apply where relevant.


The objectives of ASI are to:

  • Develop the strategy for African Collaboration in light source science by supporting collaborative ventures between research groups within Africa;
  • Promote synchrotron physics and its trans-disciplinary use in applications for societal benefit.

In pursuing these objectives, the Committee shall:

  • Provide advice and make strategic recommendations to funding agencies and decision-making bodies on the development, organisation and support of African light source research and of particular projects;
  • Define a network of complementary facilities within Africa and encourage optimisation of their usage;
  • Provide a forum for the discussion of the provision of future facilities and instrumentation.

On a regular basis, the Committee shall

  • Organise a consultation of the community leading to the definition and publication of a Long Range Plan (LRP) of African synchrotron physics;
  • Contribute to public education and awareness through dissemination and outreach activities related to light source science, in particular through publication of a journal, topical reports and via online media.