**Present:** Matteo Cavalli-Sforza (IFAE), Sijbrand De Jong (Nijmegen), Thierry Lagrange (CERN, Chair), Joachim Mnich (CERN), Ezri Tarazi (Technion); Markus Nordberg (secretary).

Excused: Julian Birkinshaw (LBS), Kalevi Ekman (Aalto University),

Meeting agenda: https://indico.cern.ch/event/1008357/

<u>Th. Lagrange</u> welcomed everyone to the 5th ISAB(-G) meeting and presented the draft agenda for the meeting. This was endorsed. The draft minutes of January 31<sup>st</sup> and draft recommendations were approved. It was requested that the used acronyms would be written out in the minutes.

As there were no developments since the last meeting, he then moved on to the composition of ISAB-G noting that J. Mnich and himself should be replaced and that new members with complementary expertise should be considered, following the recommendations of ISAB-G from 2020.

Following a lively discussion, the following three names for new members, two to be confirmed by the CERN Director of Research, were proposed: Michela Magas, Elina Berglund, and Erika Garutti. It was suggested that Valentina Venturi would be kept on the "reserve list" for the future.

As for the replacement of Th. Lagrange, the CERN Director of Research will appoint a member of the CERN Management. As possible candidates, the Department Heads of <u>SCE</u> (M. Capeans) or <u>IT</u> was proposed. This will be confirmed later in the year. Until then, Th. Lagrange will continue as the CERN representative and as the Chair. ISAB-G unanimously proposed S. De Jong as the next Chair.

The question of the length of the mandate of ISAB-G members was raised. As there are no firm rules for this, ISAB-G asked the Director of Research for some guidelines. As input for this, ISAB-G suggested applying a stacked appointment mechanism ensuring continuity and stability.

Finally, Th. Lagrange thanked all ISAB-G members for their active and helpful interaction and constructive feedback. He then moved to close the meeting at 16.50.