Jun 15 – 17, 2022
Europe/Stockholm timezone

SFS 2022 workshop logo

The annual conference of the Swedish Physical Society, Fysikdagarna, will be held in Lund 15–17 June 2022 with all the plenary events taking place at AF-borgen. The conference will consist of parallel sessions organized by the individual sections (Wednesday afternoon and Friday morning), a plenary day with a conference dinner (Thursday), a plenary poster session (Wednesday evening) and the open annual meeting of the Swedish Physical Society (Friday before lunch). See Timetable for an easy overview.

The theme of the meeting this year is Swedish accelerator-based science with plenary contributions on CERN, FAIR, MAX IV, and ESS.

The plenary program has been finalized and the parallel program will be finalized beginning of May.

As many are still signing up, we have decided to extend the registration deadline by 1 week to: May 13, 2022

Abstract submission deadline has passed. If you want to submit an abstract for the poster session that is still possible. Please contact Peter Christiansen directly.

The conference fee is 2250 (1800+VAT) for regular participants. The conference fee includes fika all three days (four in total), poster session Wednesday including wraps and two drinks, and both lunch and conference dinner Thursday.

High school teachers and undergraduate students can apply for a reduced conference fee of 1000 (800+VAT).

Confirmed plenary speakers:

  • Achim Schwenk (Technical University of Darmstadt): FAIR and the physics and astrophysics of NUSTAR

  • Andreas Schreyer (Science Director at ESS): ESS

  • Eugenia Etkina (Rutgers University, 2014 Millikan Medal): Investigative Science Learning Environment (ISLE)
  • Meytal Eran-Jona (Head of Diversity and Inclusion Office, Weizmann Institute of Science, WIS) and Yosef Nir (WIS): Internal and external challenges for women's careers in physics

  • Sara Strandberg (Stockholm University, Göran Gustafsson Prize 2018): CERN, LHC and the Higgs

  • Svante Jonsell (Stockholm University): Antihydrogen and the ALPHA and GBAR experiments

  • Stephen Molloy (Head of Accelerator Operations at MAX IV): MAX IV
  • After dinner: Troels Petersen (NBI): The modelling of Covid-19


Organisers: Anna Arnadottir, Joakim Cederkäll, Malin Sjödahl, Per Eng-Johnsson, Peter Christiansen (chair), Susanne Tegler, Tomas Brage, Torbjörn Lundberg, Torsten Åkesson, and Urban Eriksson.

Lund University logo  Lunds kommun logo  Fysiografen logo

KVA logoLINXS logo

Credits: the Lund graphics used in the conference logo was originally made by Eamonn Maguire from Antarctic Design for the LHCP 2019 conference.