The School is organized by IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society and the Senegalese Physical Society. It will be held at Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar. It is a follow-up event of a virtual school that was held in December 2020.


Practical Information (also link to WIE event Nov 23 at 14:00h)


The goal of the school is

  • To train master level students in the area of radiation detectors and its applications.
  • To promote the participation of young scientists in radiation measurements and related fields
  • This will be achieved through a combination of lectures and demonstrations

Location and Date

Monday 14th and Tuesday 15th November 2022  
2 days online lectures  

Monday 21th to Saturday 26th November 2022  
6 days lectures and exercises  
UCAD II Conference Center


  • Abdallah Lyoussi, CEA Cadarache, France
  • Anatoly Rozenfeld, University Wollongong, Australia
  • Bruce Mellado, Wits University, SA
  • Christian Bohm, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Cinzia Da Via, Manchester University, UK
  • Hoang Thi Kieu Trang, University of Science VNU-HCM, Vietnam
  • Marc-André Tétrault, Université de Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Martin Grossmann, PSI, Switzerland
  • Martin Purschke, Brookhaven National Lab, USA
  • Masaharu Nomachi, Osaka University, Japan
  • Maxim Titov, CEA, France
  • Michael Holik, IEAP CTU Prague & UWB Pilsen, Czech Republic
  • Patrick Le Du, CEA (retired), France
  • Richard Kouzes, PNNL, USA
  • Stanislav Pospisil, IEAP CTU Prague, Czech Republic
  • Stefan Ritt, PSI, Switzerland
  • Zhen-An Liu, IHEP Beijing, China
  • Safavi-Naeini Mitra ,ANSTO, Australia
  • Vladimir Vicha, IEAP CTU Prague, Czech Republic



  • Time of Flight with cosmic rays
  • EasyPET desktop experiment to demonstrate PET imaging
  • Timepix detector
  • Artificial Intelligence in Medical Imaging

Application to the school

The application to the school is open to students from all public and private Senegalese and West-African universities.

Local Organizing Committee

  • Oumar Ka (UCAD)
  • Ndeye Arame Boye-Faye (UCAD)
  • Fatou K. Gueye-Ndiaye (UCAD)
  • Sokhna B. L. Amar (UCAD)
  • Diouma Kobor (UASZ Ziguinchor)
  • El Hadj Babacar Ly (UGB Saint-Louis)
  • Mamadou Lamine Samb (UIDT Thiès)
  • Lat Tabara Sow (UAD Bambey)
  • Coumba Thiandoume (UCAD)
  • Alassane Traoré (UCAD)

Previous Instrumentation Schools

Similar instrumentation schools have been organized IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Science Society in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 2019Capetown, South Africa, 2018Ho Chi Min City, Vietnam 2016 and in Osaka,Japan 2014.


Registration for this event is currently open.
There is an open survey.