



Opening Ceremony for the

International Year of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development

Friday 8 July 2022

UNESCO

| Room I | French/English/Spanish interpretation is available and the event will be webcast | |
|-------------|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|---------------|
| 8:30-10:00 | Registration, coffee | 90' |
| 10:00-10:35 | Introductory session | 35' |
| 10:00-10:03 | Video teaser | 3' |
| 10:03-10:05 | Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle , Moderator Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO | 2' |
| 10:05-10:10 | Mr Xing Qu Deputy Director-General, UNESCO | 5' |
| 10:10-10:15 | H.E. Dr Luther Castillo Harry, Minister of Science, Technology Scientific Innovation, Republic of Honduras <i>On behalf of</i> H.E. Iris Xiomara Castro Sarmiento President of the Republic of Honduras | 5' |
| 10:15-10:20 | H.E. Mr Csaba Kőrösi President-elect of the 77th session of the United Nations General Assembly | 5′ |
| 10:20-10:25 | Dr Michel Spiro Chair of Steering Committee, International Year of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development President of the International Union of Pure and Applied | 3' Physics |
| 10:25-10:30 | Dr Merieme Chadid Astronomer, astrophysicist and explorer Chair of the UNESCO International Basic Sciences Prog (IBSP) | 3' ramme |
| 10:30-10:40 | UNESCO's role in basic science: the beating he substainable development Keynote lecture by Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESC | 10' |

The session will conclude with a short video.

10:45-11:00 COFFEE BREAK

11:00-12:25 Roundtable: role of basic sciences in decision-making

75'

Moderator: Prof. Rolf Heuer, President of the SESAME Council, former Director-General of CERN

- H.E. Dr Luther Castillo Harry, Minister of Science, Technology and Scientific Innovation, Republic of Honduras
- H.E. Mr Wang Zhigang, Minister of Science and Technology, the People's Republic of China online
- H.E. Dr Bonginkosi Emmanuel Blade Nzimande, Minister of Higher Education, Science and Innovation, Republic of South Africa
- H.E. Mr Huynh Thanh Dat, Minister of Science and Technology, Socialist Republic of Vietnam
- H.E Ms Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, Minister of Science, Technology and Environment, Republic of Cuba, *online*
- **Prof. Serge Haroche,** Physicist, Honorary Professor at Collège de France, 2012 Nobel Laureate in Physics, French Republic
- Prof. Low Teck Seng, Chief Executive Officer of the National Research Foundation, Republic of Singapore online
- Prof. Georgio Parisi, Physicist and 2021 Nobel Laureate in Physics, Republic of Italy

Remarks by Prof. Rolf Heuer, Moderator

The roundtable will conclude with a short video.

12:30-2:30 LUNCH, Japanese garden VIP lunch on invitation: restaurant, 7th floor

Keynote lecture

| 2:30-2:33 | Ms Dominique Leglu, Moderator Editorial Director, Sciences et Avenir la Recherche |
|-----------|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| 2:35-2:40 | Strengthening science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for the SDGs Keynote lecture by H.E. Prof. Mohamed Belhocine, 5' African Union Commissioner for Education, Science, Technology and Innovation <i>video</i> |

The lecture will be followed by a short video.

3:00-3:45 Roundtable: the role of basic sciences in developing societies

Moderator : Ms Dominique Leglu, Editorial Director, Sciences et Avenir la Recherche

- Dr Rui Bai, Life Science, Westlake University, the People's Republic of China online
- **Dr Karen Hallberg**, Physicist, Research Director at the Bariloche Atomic Center, Argentine Republic
- **H.E. Prof. Hany Helal**, Former Minister of Scientific Research and Higher Education, Engineering Sciences, Arab Republic of Egypt
- Prof. Barry Barish, Astronomy, 2017 Nobel Laureate in Physics, United States of America
- Dr Francine NTOUMI, Medical Science, President & Director General of the Congolese Foundation for Medical Research, Republic of Congo online

Dr Emil Bjerrum-Bohr will conclude the session with a testimony to the legacy of his great grandfather, Niels Bohr.

3:45-4:00 COFFEE BREAK

4:00-5.00 pm Talks: perspectives on basic sciences and the 60' Sustainable Development Goals

Moderator: Ms Mamphela Ramphele, M.D. Co-Chair, the Club of Rome

- Prof. Tandong Yao, Glaciologist, Member of the Chinese Academy of Science, People's Republic of China online
- Prof. Niyazi Serdar Sariciftci, Chemical Physicist, Johannes Kepler University (JKU), Republic of Austria video
- Prof. Mercedes Bustamante, Ecologist, University of Brasilia, Federative Republic of Brazil online
- Prof. Mu-ming Pu, Neuroscientist, Member of the Chinese Academy of Science, People's Republic of China online
- Prof. Mansurah Abdulazeez, Biochemist, Bayero University, Federal Republic of Nigeria
- Prof. Luca Marchetti, Computational Biologist, University of Trento, Republic of Italy
- Dr Pierre Léna, Honorary President of the Office for Climate Education, French Republic
- Dr Luc Aguilar, Director of Research and Development, L'Oréal

Musical interlude by Mr Denis Teste, sitar and tabla (10')

5:00-5:25 pm In their own words: basic science from around the globe 25'

Moderator: Ms Mamphela Ramphele, M.D. Co-Chair, the Club of Rome

- Ms Ursula Bassler, former President of CERN Council, CNRS,
- Dr Khaled Toukan, Director of SESAME, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

- Dr Atish Dabholkar, Director of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy
- Sir Mike Stratton, Director of the Wellcome Sanger Institute, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland video
- Prof. Mohammed Hassan, President of The World Academy of Science (TWAS)

Remarks: Ms Charlotte Warakaulle, Director for International Relations, CERN

| 5:25-5:35 | Concluding remarks | 10' |
|-----------|------------------------------------------------------------------|-----|
| | Dr Michel Spiro | 5' |
| | Chair of Steering Committee, International Year | |
| | of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development | |
| | President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics | |
| | Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle | 5' |
| | Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO | |
| | | |

EXHIBITORS

- CasZyme, a biotech startup from the Republic of Lithuania
- Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
- Synchrotron-light for Experimental Science and Applications in the Middle East (SESAME)
- National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand (NARIT)
- French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)
- European Physical Society (EPS)
- International Basic Science Programme (IBSP)
- International union of biological sciences (IUBS)
- International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)
- International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG)