Appointment of associated members to IUPAP Commissions.

IUPAP resolves to appoint the Associated Members to IUPAP Commissions that are listed in what follows. The appointments will start immediately and remain effective until the next *in person* IUPAP General Assembly to be held in 2024, unless otherwise noted.

Commission on Symbols, Units, Nomenclature, Atomic Masses and Fundamental Constants (C2):

1. William Daniel Phillips, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA (Phillips has already served on the commission for 9 years: 2011–2017 as a member and 2017–2021 as an associated member. Article 6 in the Internal Regulations stipulates that service in all capacities shall not exceed three terms, but the General Assembly may grant exceptions to this provision for Commissions that undertake long-term projects or where continuity is particularly important.)

Commission on Statistical Physis (C3):

- 1. *Suliana Manley, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland* (member of C6, IUPAP Commission on Biological Physics)
- 2. *Enzo Marinari, University of Rome Sapienza, Rome, Italy* (member of C20, IUPAP Commission on Computational Physics)
- 3. *Robert Stamps, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Canada* (member of C9 IUPAP Commission on Magnetism)
- 4. Damian Zanette, Centro Atómico Bariloche & Instituto Balseiro, Bariloche, Argentina

Commission on Astroparticle Physics (C4):

- 1. Ani Aprahamian, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, USA (Chair of C12, IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics).
- 2. *Florencia Canelli, University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland* (Chair of C11, IUPAP Commission on Particles and Fields).
- 3. Du Toit Strauss, North-West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa.
- 4. *Imre Bartos, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA*. In this way we extend his associated membership until the *in person* General Assembly to be held in 2024.

Commission on Low Temperature Physics (C5):

1. Yanina Fasano, Low Temperatures Laboratory & Instituto Balseiro, Centro Atómico Bariloche, Argentina

Commission on Biological Physics (C6):

- 1. John Damilakis (Chair of AC4, IUPAP Affiliated Commission on Medical Physics)
- 2. Peter Pohl (Councillor of the International Union for Pure and Applied Biophysics, IUPAB)

Commission on Magnetism (C9):

- 1. Pallavi Dhagat, Oregon State University, OR, USA, (Past President of the IEEE Magnetics Society) through the end of 2022, to be replaced by Masahiro Yamaguchi, Tohoku University, Japan in 2023-2024 (who would then be Past President of the IEEE Magnetics Society).
- Marcelo Jaime, Los Alamos National Laboratory, NM, USA, (Chair of the Topical Group on Magnetism (GMAG) of the American Physical Society, APS) for 2022-2023, to be replaced by Clarina Reloj Dela Cruz, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA, for 2023- 2024 (who would then be Chair of GMAG).
- 3. *Shao-Xiong Zhou, Beijing, China* (President of the Asian Union of Magnetics Societies, AUMS) to become effective upon the approval of the AUMS Council.

Commission on Particles and Fields (C11):

- 1. Ani Aprahamian, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, USA (Chair of C12, IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics).
- 2. *Takaaki Kajita, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan* (Chair of C4, IUPAP Commission on Astroparticle Physics).
- 3. Oliver Stelzer-Chilton, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Commission on Nuclear Physics (C12):

- 1. Azwinndini Muronga, Nelson Mandela University, South Africa (Member of C11, the IUPAP Commission on Particles and Fields).
- 2. Junichi Yokoyama, President of Asia Pacific Physics Societies, Japan (Vice-Chair of C19, IUPAP Commission on Astrophysics).
- 3. Chia-Liang Cheng , National Dong Hwa University, China, Taipei (Member of C6, IUPAP Commission on Biological Physics).

Commission on Physics for Development (C13):

- 1. David Hutchinson, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand
- 2. José David Mangueira Viana, Brazil
- 3. Angie Sanchez, National University of Honduras, Honduras
- 4. Sekazi Mtingwa, TriSEED Consultants, NC, USA (for his leading role in project LAAAMP, the IUPAP-IUCr-ICTP project whose aim is to enhance Advanced Light Sources and crystallographic sciences in various developing regions of the world). Given that Sekazi Mtingwa is the Past Chair of C13, the General Assembly has resolved to grant an exception to the rules on the Terms of Office of Commission Chairs (Article 6 of the Internal Regulations) to elect Sekazi Mtingwa as Associated Member of C13.

Commission on Physics Education (C14):

- 1. Elizabeth Jane Angstmann, University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia
- 2. César Eduardo Mora Ley, National Polytechnic Institute (IPN), Mexico.
- 3. *Ajith Kumar*, University of Calicut, Kerala, India (member of C13, IUPAP Commission on Physics for Development)
- 4. *Farida Fassi, Mohammed V University, Rabat, Morocco* (Member of WG5, IUPAP Working Group Women in Physics).
- 5. Soe Gon Yee Thant, the International Association of Physics Students (Member of AC5, Affiliated Commission of Physics Students)

Commission on Plasma Physics (C16):

1. Vasyl Maslov, National Science Centre "Kharkov Institute of Physics and Technology, Ukraine (currently a refugee in Fleurance, France).

Commission on Laser Physics and Photonics (C17):

- 1. *Nicholas P. Bigelow,* University of Rochester, NY, USA (representing the APS/OSA/IEEE Joint Council on Quantum Electronics)
- 2. John Dudley, CNRS Institut FEMTO-ST & Université de Franche-Comté, France (International Year of Light legacy)
- 3. Pietro Ferraro, Institute of Applied Sciences & Intelligent Systems "E.Caianiello", CNR, Italy (representing the International Commission on Optics, IUPAP Affiliated Commission 1)
- 4. Gediminas Raciukaitis, Center for Physical Sciences and Technology, Vilnius, Lithuania
- 5. Grigoris Itskos, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
- 6. Patrizio Antici, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS) Canada

Commission on Mathematical Physics (C18):

1. Sylvia Serfati, New York University, NY, USA (Vice-president of the International Association for Mathematical Physics, IAMP).

Commission on Astrophysics (C19):

1. Piero Benvenuti, University of Padua, Italy

Commission on Computational Physics (C20):

- 1. Bismarck Vaz da Costa, Federal University of Minas Gerais, MG, Brazil
- 2. Joan Adler, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
- 3. Mathias Troyer, Microsoft, USA