FCC-EIC Joint & MDI Workshop 2022

513/1-024 (CERN)



Show room on map
Manuela Boscolo (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)), Frank Zimmermann (CERN), Tor Raubenheimer (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (US)), Andrey Abramov (CERN)

This extended two week working meeting combines the 1st FCC-EIC Joint Workshop and the 4th FCC-ee MDI Workshop. The event will take place at CERN, from 17 to 28 October 2022 in a hybrid in-person and online participation format. The working meeting will start on Monday 17 October after lunch and will end on Friday 28 October. It will be organized with presentations in the afternoon, followed by discussions on various topics.

The first week of the event will include joint sessions on topics of common interest to FCC-ee and EIC, while the second week will focus more on FCC-ee MDI topics. This will be an opportunity to share knowledge and experience from the diverse and complementary research related to the FCC and EIC. Experience from SuperKEKB will also be presented.

The goal of the second week is to make progress on the mechanical design and integration of the interaction region layout, including the FCC-ee MDI region. Here, the constraints are tight, and the intent is to improve the current design through close interaction with engineering proposals as to how to manufacture, integrate and assemble the various components that make up the heart of the collider and detector. The aim is to develop a list of requirements for each subsystem as well as for the integration of the sub-assemblies.

  During the event the following topics will be addressed:

• IR optics, beam dynamics, collective effects
• IR magnet design, mechanical integration
• Beam losses and SR in the MDI, collimation, detector backgrounds
• Tuning, mechanical stabilization, and alignment
• Impedance, heat load evaluation
• MDI assembly concept, beam pipe model, and IR mock-up
• Vertex detector & Lumical integration study


FCCISThe Future Circular Collider Innovation Study. This INFRADEV Research and Innovation Action project receives funding from the European Union’s H2020 Framework Programme under grant agreement no. 951754.
CERN Hostel
FCC-EIC Joint & MDI Workshop 2022
Zoom Meeting ID
Julie Hadre
Alternative hosts
Manuela Boscolo, Andrey Abramov, Frank Zimmermann, David Goldsworthy
Useful links
Join via phone
Zoom URL
FCC-EIC Joint & MDI Workshop 2022 Registration form
  • Alexander Novokhatski
  • Alexei Blednykh
  • Andrea Ciarma
  • Andrea Gaddi
  • Andrei Seryi
  • Andrey Abramov
  • Angelika Drees
  • Anton Lechner
  • Antonio Di Domenico
  • Antonio Perillo Marcone
  • Armin Ilg
  • Arnaud Foussat
  • Barbara Dalena
  • Bjorn Hans Filip Lindstrom
  • Brett Parker
  • Charles Hetzel
  • Christoph Montag
  • Chuyu Liu
  • Cristobal Garcia
  • Daniel Marx
  • David Gassner
  • Demin Zhou
  • Derong Xu
  • Dima El Khechen
  • Dmitry Shatilov
  • Elaf Musa
  • Emanuela Carideo
  • Eva Montbarbon
  • Fabrizio Palla
  • Fani Valchkova-Georgieva
  • Filippo Bosi
  • Francesco Fransesini
  • Frank Zimmermann
  • Freddy Poirier
  • Georg Hoffstaetter
  • Giacomo Broggi
  • Giacomo Lavezzari
  • Haixin Huang
  • Haoyu Shi
  • Helmut Burkhardt
  • Henry Lovelace III
  • Holger Witte
  • Ian Dawson
  • Jacqueline Keintzel
  • Jeremie Bauche
  • John Osborne
  • John Seeman
  • Joseph Scott Berg
  • Kevin André
  • Leon Van Riesen-Haupt
  • Liam Bromiley
  • Lucie Baudin
  • Luigi Pellegrino
  • Luigi Pellegrino
  • Luke Von Freeden
  • Léonard WATRELOT
  • Manuela Boscolo
  • Maria Chamizo Llatas
  • Mark James Boland
  • Markus Widorski
  • Matthieu Valette
  • Medani Sangroula
  • Michael Benedikt
  • Michael Hofer
  • Michael Kenneth Sullivan
  • Michael Koratzinos
  • Mogens Dam
  • Mostafa Behtouei
  • Pantaleo Raimondi
  • Patrick Hunchak
  • Peter Kicsiny
  • Rama Calaga
  • Rita Perez Martinez
  • Roberto Kersevan
  • Roderik Bruce
  • Rogelio Tomas Garcia
  • Stanislas Grabon
  • Stefano Lauciani
  • Takuya Ishibashi
  • Tatiana Da Silva
  • Tatiana Pieloni
  • Tessa Charles
  • Thibaut Lefevre
  • Thomas Otto
  • Tobias Persson
  • Tor Raubenheimer
  • Vitalii Okorokov
  • Xavier Buffat
  • Yasushi Arimoto
  • Yi Wu
  • Yunhai Cai