Jun 25 – 29, 2023
Ole-Johan Dahls Hus
Europe/Oslo timezone

Characterization, Simulation and Test Beam Data Analysis of Stitched Passive CMOS Strip Sensors

Jun 27, 2023, 2:20 PM
Simula Auditorium (Ole-Johan Dahls Hus)

Simula Auditorium

Ole-Johan Dahls Hus

Oslo Science Park Gaustadalléen 23B, 0373 Oslo
Oral Sensor materials, Device Processing and Technologies Sensors


Iveta Zatocilova (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE))


In the passive CMOS Strips Project, strip sensors were designed and produced at LFoundry in 150 nm technology, with an additional backside processing from IZM Berlin. Up to five individual reticules were connected by stitching at the foundry in order to obtain the typical strip lengths required for the LHC Phase-II upgrade of ATLAS or CMS trackers. After dicing, sensors were tested in a probe station and characterised with a Sr90-source as well as laser-based edge- and top-TCT systems. Sensors were also simulated using Sentaurus TCAD. At last, detector modules were constructed from several sensors and thoroughly studied in a test beam campaign at DESY. All of these measurements were performed before and after irradiation. This presentation will provide an overview of simulation results, summarize the laboratory measurements and in particular present the test beam results for irradiated and unirradiated passive CMOS strip sensors. We will demonstrate that large area sensors with sufficient radiation hardness can be obtained by stitching in this CMOS process, and present our plans for the next CMOS submission in the framework of this project.

Primary authors

Dennis Sperlich (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Fabian Huegging (University of Bonn (DE)) Fabian Simon Lex (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Ingrid-Maria Gregor (DESY & Bonn University) Iveta Zatocilova (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Jan-Hendrik Arling (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)) Jens Weingarten (Technische Universitaet Dortmund (DE)) Karl Jakobs (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Kevin Alexander Kroeninger (Technische Universitaet Dortmund (DE)) Leena Diehl (CERN) Marc Hauser (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Marta Baselga (Technische Universitaet Dortmund (DE)) Michael Karagounis (Fachhochschule Dortmund Univ. of Applied Sciences and Arts (DE)) Naomi Afiriyie Davis (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Niels Sorgenfrei (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Simon Spannagel (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Spyros Argyropoulos (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Surabhi Sharma (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Sven Mägdefessel (University Freiburg) Ulrich Parzefall (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE))

Presentation materials