Jun 25 – 29, 2023
Ole-Johan Dahls Hus
Europe/Oslo timezone

P2.40: Spectral response of the iLGAD sensors to soft X-rays

Jun 28, 2023, 5:21 PM
Ole-Johan Spiseri (Ole-Johan Dahls Hus)

Ole-Johan Spiseri

Ole-Johan Dahls Hus

Ole Johan Dahls Hus - Oslo Science Park Gaustadalléen 23B, 0373 Oslo


Jiaguo Zhang (Paul Scherrer Institut)


Single photon detection of fluorescent X-rays down to 452 eV with a signal-to-noise ratio greater than 20 has been demonstrated using 25 um pitch iLGAD sensors, bump-bonded to a charge-integrating readout chip Moench. These iLGAD sensors combined with a thin entrance window developed in collaboration with FBK are optimized for soft X-ray detection by having an excellent quantum efficiency in the corresponding energy range. Additional measurements using monochromatic X-ray photons from 390 eV to 900 eV have been performed recently at the SIM beamline of the Swiss Light Source. The spectral response features double peaks at each photon energy, corresponding to the signals generated by electron- and hole-initiated charge multiplication. It has been found that the ratio of the signals height depends on the design of the gain layer of the iLGAD sensor and the counts under the peaks change with photon energy. To understand this behavior, a customized simulation program has been developed: it takes into account the impact ionization process, carrier drift and diffusion, charge collection by the readout electrodes as well as the electronic and shot noise. The simulation results have been compared to the measurements, which show good agreement to a large extent. The measurement and simulation results will be discussed.

Primary author

Jiaguo Zhang (Paul Scherrer Institut)


Filippo Baruffaldi (Paul Scherrer Insitut (Switzerland)) Rebecca Barten (Paul Scherrer Institut) Anna Bergamaschi Maurizio Boscardin (FBK Trento) Martin Brückner (PSI - Paul Scherrer Institut) Maria del Mar Carulla Areste Matteo Centis Vignali (FBK) Roberto Dinapoli (Paul Scherrer Institut) Simon Ebner (Paul Scherrer Institut) Francesco Ficorella (Fondazione Bruno Kessler) Erik Fröjdh (Paul Scherrer Institut) Dominic Greiffenberg Omar Hammad Ali Dr Julian Heymes (Paul Scherrer Institut) Shqipe Hasanaj (Paul Scherrer Institut) Dr Viktoria Hinger (Paul Scherrer Institut) Thomas King (Paul Scherrer Institut) Pawel Kozlowski (Paul Scherrer Institut) Antonio Liguori (University of Bari “Aldo Moro”) Carlos Lopez Cuenca (PSI - Paul Scherrer Institut) Dr Davide Mezza (Paul Scherrer Institut) Konstantinos Moustakas (PSI - Paul Scherrer Institut) Aldo Mozzanica Giovanni Paternoster (Fondazione Bruno KEssler) Kirsty Paton (Paul Scherrer Institut) Sabina Ronchin (Fondazione Bruno Kessler) Christian Ruder (Paul Scherrer Institut) Bernd Schmitt Dr Xiangyu Xie (Paul Scherrer Institut)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.