## **IUPAP C16 activities in 2023**

The activities of the IUPAP Commission on Plasma Physics from July 2022 to August 2023 were mainly conducted remotely (via the mailing list <a href="mailto:IUPAP-C16-Members@cern.ch">IUPAP-C16-Members@cern.ch</a>), apart from participation of C16 representatives to IUPAP-supported conferences as discussed below.

S. Jacquemot, chair of the Commission, attended the 20<sup>th</sup> International Congress on Plasma Physics (ICPP2020) in Gyeongju, Korea. Initially planned in July 2020, and approved as a IUPAP-sponsored conference in 2020, the congress was held from November 27 to the December 2, 2022. It gathered more than 260 participants, including 13.7% of women, from 26 countries, and provided the opportunity to award the 2021 Early Career Scientist Prize to Tatsuya Kobayashi.



The 35<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Phenomena in Ionized Gases (ICPIGXXXV), approved as IUPAP-sponsored conference in 2021 and in 2023, initially scheduled to be held on 11 - 16 July 2021 in Egmond aan Zee, in the Netherlands, was finally organized from the 9<sup>th</sup> to the 14<sup>th</sup> of July 2023. 305 scientists attended the conference, among them 61 women. The C16 Commission was represented by Ursel Fantz, its secretary.



The 2022 IUPAP-supported conference, ESCAMPIG2022, was held in Paris on 11 – 15 July 2022, with 207 participants (52 women). Ursel Fantz was also representing the C16 Commission.

Sponsoring of conferences for 2024 was discussed within the Commission and it was decided to support ICPP2024 (to be held September 8-13, 2024, at Ghent University, Belgium).

In addition to nominal IUPAP support, the Commission supports the annual European Physical Society (EPS) Plasma Physics conferences through direct funding (300€) of the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP Student Poster Prizes: <a href="http://plasma.ciemat.es/eps/awards/poster-prizes/">http://plasma.ciemat.es/eps/awards/poster-prizes/</a>.

The 2022 Early Career Scientist Prize has been awarded to Marija Vranic at a seminar given at the *Laboratoire pour l'Utilisation des Lasers Intenses* (LULI) on February 13, 2023, by the chair of the Commission.

The call for the 2023 Early Career Scientist Prize on Plasma Physics was launched in February 2023. Four high-quality nominations (including one female nominee) were received. A first round (by email) allowed the selection unambiguously of one nominee: the 2023 prize was thus awarded to Jannis Teunissen.