Report of Affiliated Commission AC2 for 2022-2023

Affiliated Commission AC.2 is the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation (ISGRG).

Meetings: ISGRG meets triennially: *GR23*, was held July 2022 in Beijing, China. This was a hybrid meeting with most international attendees joining on-line. The Scientific Organizing Committee, chaired by Prof. Veronika Hubeny (University of California, at Davis), developed the scientific program in collaboration with the Local Organizing Committee led by Prof. Rong-Gen Cai (Chinese Academy of Sciences). The GR23 website is http://gr23beijing.com. *GR24* will be held in July 2025 in Glasgow, Scotland in conjunction with the *Amaldi16* meeting on gravitational waves. The Scientific Organizing Committee is chaired by Prof. Jonathan Gair (Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics/Albert Einstein Institute). (The Amaldi series of meetings, also receiving IUPAP support, focus on gravitational waves and are organized by GWIC.) IUPAP and GWIC have met jointly every six years (when the meeting dates align) since 2013

Early Career Scientist Prize: In 2023, we awarded the IUPAP General Relativity and Gravitation Early Career Scientist Prize to Dr. Tim Dietrich of the University of Potsdam. The citation reads "For his essential contributions to the development of gravitational-wave and electromagnetic models for binary-neutron star systems, his multi-messenger studies placing new constraints on the properties of supranuclear-dense matter, and his important role and engagement within international scientific collaborations." While Dr. Dietrich has already received or will soon receive his medal and check, the official presentation (along with the presentations to the awardees for 2024 and 2025) will be made during GR24. These recipients will also be asked to give brief presentations on their work during the conference.

Other Prizes: ISGRG offers two thesis prizes, the Jürgen Ehlers Thesis Prize in the areas of mathematical and numerical general relativity and the Bergmann-Wheeler Thesis Prize in the broad area encompassing all approaches to quantum gravity. These awards are made every three years to align with the GRn meetings. The recipients will be announced in 2025 with the awards officially made during GR24.

We plan to identify10 students and 4 postdocs to receive awards from ISGRG for the "best talk" by a student and postdoc respectively given during GR24. The awardees will be selected from nominations made by the Chairs of the sessions in which they speak.

Other activities: The ISGRG held a virtual event celebrating the 50th anniversary of the publication of the textbook *Gravitation* by Misner, Thorne, and Wheeler. Talks were given by David Kaiser and Kip Thorne. The event was well attended, reaching the maximum 300 allowed for this Zoom meeting and was recorded and posted. Later this year we will hold a similar event commemorating the 50th anniversary of the publication of the monograph *The Large Scale Structure of Spacetime* by Hawking and Ellis.

Submitted by

David Garfinkle Secretary, ISGRG