Endorsement of new RECFA, Plenary ECFA and ERC Panel members

Plenary ECFA Meeting 12th July 2023

Karl Jakobs / ECFA Chair



Nominations for ECFA country delegates

"Plenary ECFA appoints members for a **total maximum period of six years after nomination** by their country. While the members so chosen should be able to represent the views of the high-energy physics community of their country, they are members of Plenary ECFA as individuals."

• New appointments and re-appointments for a second term are made each year at the Plenary ECFA meeting in November, with start of mandate on 1st January of the following year

→ Nominations for Nov. endorsements to be made via the RECFA delegates by 31. Oct. 2023

New Nominations for RECFA

Sweden: Received the wish of the Swedish RECFA delegate to step down;

Prof. Arnaud Ferrari (Uppsala University) has been nominated to replace Prof. David Milstead (Stockholm) as Swedish RECFA delegate

Plenary ECFA is asked to endorse this change

Huge Thanks to David Milstead for his excellent work and engagement for RECFA

A warm Welcome to Arnaud Ferrari as new RECFA member



New members of the ECR Panel

From the ECR mandate:

"Members are, in general, PhD students and postdocs, either with a non-permanent contract or with up to eight years after obtaining the PhD. Up to three members, among them at least one PhD student and one postdoc, can be nominated by each ECFA country and each major laboratory represented in ECFA for a mandate of two years, extendable for another two years. Nominations are to be endorsed by Plenary ECFA. Members act as individuals, but should be able to represent the views of early-career researchers in particle physics in the nominating country."

Countries with a National Lab (in LDG) can nominate an additional member from this lab.

Present ECR composition: https://ecfa.web.cern.ch/ecfa-early-career-researchers-panel



Early Career Researcher Panel

Country	Current representatives	New representatives
CERN	Emanuele Bagnaschi (fellow, Theory)	Silvia Ferrario Ravasio (TH Fellow)
	Nima Zardoshti (staff, ALICE)	
	Laurent Dufour (LD research physicist, LHCb)	
Austria		Andreas Gsponer
	Géraldine Räuber (PhD student, HEPHY Vienna, Belle-II)	
	Yannick Dengler	
Belgium	Aleksandra Lelek (postdoc, Phenomenology)	
	Anna Benecke (UCL, postdoc)	
	Kirill Skovpen (postdoc, CMS)	
Dulgaria	Radoslav Simeonov (PhD student)	
Bulgaria	Mariana Shopova (postdoc, CMS)	
Croatia		
Cyprus		
	Nikiforos Nikiforou (postdoc, ATLAS)	
	Kamil Augsten (assistant professor, ATLAS/COMPASS)	
Czech Republic	Tomas Herman, PhD student, ALICE	
	Kateřina Jarkovská (PhD student, theory)	
Denmark		Arnau Morancho Tarda, PhD student at ATLAS, Niels Bohr Ins
Finland	Henning Kirschenmann (postdoc, CMS)	
	Petja Paakkinen (theory postdoc from Jyväskylä)	
	Laura Huhta (experimental grad student from Jyväskylä ALICE group)	
	Sarah Herrmann (PhD student, ALICE)	
France	Anastasia Kotsokechagia (postdoc, ATLAS)	
	Guillaume Pietrzyk (postdo, LHCb)	Bruno Alves (PhD from CMS)
Germany (incl. DESY)		Archita Rani Dash (Uni Münster)
	Laura Moreno Valero (PhD student, theory, Uni Münster)	
		Meike Küßner (Uni Bochum)
		Jan-Hendrik Arling (DESY)
Hungary	Péter Major (PhD, Eötvös University, Budapest)	
Greece		
Israel		
	Michael Pitt (Senior Research Fellow, CMS)	
Italy (incl. Frascati)	Giovanni Benato (postdoc, LNGS)	
	Cecilia Borca (PhD student, CMS)	
	Valentina Zaccolo (assistant professor, ALICE)	
	Eleonora Diociaiuti (postdoc, Mu2e, Frascati)	
	Elisabetta Spadaro Norella (LHCb, postdoc)	
		1

	Jordy Degens (PhD student, ATLAS)	
Netherlands		
	Andrea Garcia Alonso.	
	Suzanne Klaver (postdoc, LHCb)	
	Lydia Brenner (ATLAS staff, Nikhef)	
Norway	Nikolai Fomin	
Poland	Magdalena Kuich (postdoc, NA61/SHINE)	Dr. Grzegorz Zarnecki (Institute of Nuclear Physics, Cracow.)
	Jakub Malczewski (Phd student, LHCb)	
	Marta Urbaniak - PhD student, NA61/SHINE, new appointment	
Portugal	Paulo Braz (dark matter, postdoc)	
	Fernando Souza (PhD student, phenomenology)	
	Rute Pedro (postdoc, FCC, R&D, ATLAS)	
Romania		
	Vlad-Mihai Placinta (postdoc/electronics engineer, LHCb)	
	Veljko Maksimovic (ATLAS, Belgrade, PhD student)	
Serbia	Jelena Jovicevic (Research professor, ATLAS)	
	Vukasin Milosevic (PhD defense on 27 October 2020, CMS)	
Slovakia	Filomena Sopkova	
Jiovakia	Lucia Keszeghova (PhD student, ATLAS)	
Slovenia	Bojan Hiti (postdoc, ATLAS)	
	Arman Korajac phd theory	
	Anja Novosel phd exp	
Spain	Carla Marín Benito (postdoc, LHCb)	
	Lourdes Urda Gomez (PhD student, CMS)	
	Paula Martinez Suarez (PhD student, ATLAS)	
Sweden		Christina Dimitriadi (PhD student, ATLAS, Uppsala University)
	Neven Blaskovic Kraljevic (postdoc, accelerators)	Leif Gellersen (postdoc, phenomenology,
	Giulia Ripellino (PhD student, ATLAS)	Erik Wallin
Switzerland	Armin Ilg (PhD student, ATLAS)	
		Elisabeth Niel (EPFL)
		Marko Pesut (UZH)
	Manuel Zeyen (PhD student, low energy precision physics)	Giuseppe Lospalluto (PSI) — PSI representative
Turkey		Özgür Etişken
	Hüseyin Dag (postdoc not tenured, CMS)	Sinem Simsek
	Gamze Sokmen (PhD student, CMS)	
UK	Holly Pacey (ATLAS) – Cambridge	
	Patrick Dunne (DUNE, T2K) – Imperial	
	Julia Allen (ATLAS) – Edinburgh – PhD Student	
	Atanu Modak (RAL, postdoc)	



ECFA representation from the ECR

There are: Five ex-officio ECR members in ECFA

One ex-officio ECR member in RECFA

Eleonora Diociaiuti

Gianluca Inguglia (slot to be filled in Nov 2023)

Henning Kirschenmann

Lydia Brenner [RECFA]

Paweł Sznajder to be replaced by: Armin Ilg (Zürich)

Plenary ECFA is asked to endorse this change

Huge Thanks to Pawel Sznajder for his excellent work and engagement for ECR and ECFA

A warm Welcome to Armin Ilg as new ECR-ECFA member

