Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Particle Physics Day 2023

Eija Tuominen (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI)), Hannu Paukkunen, Henning Kirschenmann (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI)), Matti Heikinheimo (University of Helsinki and Helsinki Institute of Physics), Mikko Voutilainen (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI)), Sami Sakari Rasanen (University of Jyvaskyla (FI)), Tuomas Lappi

Annual meeting of the Particle Physics Division of the Finnish Physical Society

This is in-person meeting in Hotel Alexandra in Jyväskylä.

Previous meetings linked from PP Division home pages and instructions to sign up to pp-findiv list: 

  • Alex Stendahl
  • Anh Dung Le
  • Cindy Mordasini
  • Dana Avramescu
  • Dimitrios Karamitros
  • Dong Jo Kim
  • Emilia Veikkola
  • Erik Brücken
  • Fredrik Oljemark
  • Hadi Hassan
  • Hanna Lempiäinen
  • Hannu Paukkunen
  • Harri Niemi
  • Harri Parkkinen
  • Heikki Mäntysaari
  • Henning Kirschenmann
  • Henri Hänninen
  • Henri Markus Petrow
  • Henry Hirvonen
  • Jarkko Peuron
  • Jere Mäki-Ikola
  • Joni Laulainen
  • Jorma Tuominiemi
  • Jussi Auvinen
  • Kaapo Seppänen
  • Kari J Eskola
  • Kari Rummukainen
  • Kenneth Osterberg
  • Kimmo Juhani Kainulainen
  • Kimmo Tuominen
  • Marius Utheim
  • Matti Heikinheimo
  • Maxim Virta
  • Mikael Myllymäki
  • Mikko Kuha
  • Mikko Voutilainen
  • Mirja Tevio
  • Pablo Navarrete
  • Patin Inkaew
  • Patricia Gimeno Estivill
  • Petja Paakkinen
  • Risto Paatelainen
  • Sami Nurmi
  • Sami Räsänen
  • Sarah Farzand
  • Tapio Lampén
  • Timo Hildén
  • Tomas Lindén
  • Topi Sirkiä
  • Vadim Guzey
  • Xuanbo Tong
  • Yossathorn Tawabutr
  • Yuuka Kanakubo
  • +12
    • 10:30 AM 11:00 AM
      Morning coffee 30m
    • 11:00 AM 12:30 PM
      Morning session
      Convener: Sami Sakari Rasanen (University of Jyvaskyla (FI))
      • 11:00 AM
        CMS+TOTEM/PPS experimental overview 25m


        Speaker: Mikko Voutilainen (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI))
      • 11:30 AM
        CMS/TOTEM upgrades 15m


        Speaker: Timo Eero Hilden (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI))
      • 11:50 AM
        Top mass measurements - current status 15m


        Speaker: Mikael Myllymaki (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI))
      • 12:10 PM
        Why do we need independent observables to improve our understanding of the QCD matter properties 15m


        Speakers: Maxim Mikael Olavi Virta, Maxim Virta (University of Jyväskylä)
    • 12:30 PM 1:30 PM
      Buffet lunch 1h
    • 1:30 PM 3:00 PM
      Afternoon session
      Convener: Hannu Paukkunen
      • 1:30 PM
        Parton distributions at approximate NNNLO accuracy 25m

        25' + 5'

        Speaker: Felix Hekhorn
      • 2:00 PM
        Monte-Carlo EKRT event generator for initializing 3+1 dimensional hydrodynamics 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speaker: Mikko Kuha
      • 2:15 PM
        Inferring the Initial Condition for the Balitsky-Kovchegov Evolution Equation 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speaker: Carlisle Aurabelle Casuga (University of Jyväskylä)
      • 2:30 PM
        ALICE News 25m

        25' + 5'

        Speaker: Dong Jo Kim (University of Jyvaskyla (FI))
    • 3:00 PM 3:30 PM
      Afternoon coffee 30m
    • 3:30 PM 5:00 PM
      Evening session
      Convener: Matti Heikinheimo (University of Helsinki and Helsinki Institute of Physics)
      • 3:30 PM
        Quantum transport theory for neutrinos with flavor and particle-antiparticle mixing 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speaker: Harri Parkkinen (University of Jyväskylä)
      • 3:45 PM
        Tri-Resonant Leptogenesis 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speakers: Dimitrios Karamitros (University of Ioannina), Dimitrios Karamitros
      • 4:00 PM
        Recent advancements in perturbative QCD at high densities 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speaker: Kaapo Seppänen
      • 4:15 PM
        NaI Quenching factor measurement 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speaker: Alex Stendahl
      • 4:30 PM
        Tackling the four-loop QCD pressure at high temperature 12m

        12' + 3'

        Speaker: Mr Pablo Navarrete Noriega (University of Helsinki)
    • 5:00 PM 6:00 PM
      Agenda: Division meeting
      1. Opening of the meeting, choosing the chair and secretary, and two persons for counting votes
      2. Accepting the agenda
      3. Choosing the board
      4. Activity of the division 2022-2023
      5. Meetings organized in Finland 2022-2023
      6. Meetings to be organized in Finland 2023-2024
      7. RECFA representative report
      8. ECFA ECR representatives report
      9. AOB
      10. Closing the meeting

      1. Opening of the meeting, choosing the chair and secretary, and two persons for counting votes:
        - meeting started 17:10
        - chair Sami Räsänen, secretary Matti Heikinheimo, vote counters Tapio Lampén and Henning Kirschenmann

      2. Accepting the agenda
       - accepted

      3. Choosing the board
        - current board members: Sami (chair), Matti, Henning, Hannu Paukkunen and Eija Tuominen
        - Eija moved to VTT, asked to step down. Otherwise old board continues. 

        - Erik Brücken was selected as new member

      4. Activity of the division 2022-2023
       - researchers night, both in Helsinki and Jyväskylä
       - participation to physics days in Tampere (talks/posters)
       - particle cosmo meet in Tampere
       - CoE retreat in Konnevesi
       - IPPOG master classes
       - we were selected to organize 2025 Spåtind

      5. Meetings organized in Finland 2022-2023
       - particle physics day, Jyväskylä 2023

      6. Meetings to be organized in Finland 2023-2024: 
       - physics days, particle physics day in Helsinki, Jyväskylä summer school, QCD summer school in Saariselkä, Nordic detector course (?), CoE retreat in Konnevesi, master classes in Helsinki and perhaps also in Jyväskylä, researchers night.

      7. RECFA and PECFA representative report
       - Kati Lassila-Perini gave rapport via Zoom
       - check who controls the PP-findiv list, use that for communication. Add ppday participants automatically. 
       - Kati’s term ended in RECFA, Panja Luukka elected next representative
       - Mikko Voutilainen gave few words from PECFA; discussions around FCC and muon collider; FCC plans coming more concrete
       - Mikko’s term in PECFA ends, Henning elected next representative

      8. ECFA ECR representatives report: 
       - Henning brought news from early career researchers (ERC)
       - ERC September meeting was successful, large participation
       - Henning steps down, Mikael Myllymäki suggested as next representative  Confirm availability

      9. AOB
       - the call for new PECFA, RECFA, ECFA ECR members should be advertised via email in advance
       - interested persons should contact any of the board members to express interest
       - board finds a candidate before the meeting
       - in future, pay attention to division meeting agenda; announce selections also there 
       - Next year a new representative for PECFA will be selected, as Tuomas Lappi’s term will end
       - Open position for beamline for schools CERN competition. Ask Kenneth Österberg for details.

      10. Closing the meeting
        - meeting closed 17:58