



Progress of the LMU ^{229m}Th³⁺ Trapped-Ion Nuclear Clock Project

<u>Georg Holthoff & Markus Wiesinger</u> on behalf of Kevin Scharl, Tamila Teschler, Irtiza Hussain, Daniel Moritz, Lilli Löbell, Sandro Kraemer, Tim Theuner, Stephan Wissenberg, and Peter G. Thirolf

LMU Munich





uropean Research Council tablished by the European Commission





^{229m}Th – a Unique Nucleus



2



Original version in L. von der Wense *et al.*, Nature **533**, 47–51 (2016), updated in P. G. Thirolf *et al.*, Eur. Phys. J. Spec. Top. (2024).

• Existence of the isomer: identified via conversion electrons

L. von der Wense et al., Nature 533, 47–51 (2016)

- Lifetime of the neutral isomer: $\tau_{IC} = 7 \pm 1 \, \mu s$ B. Seiferle *et al.*, Phys. Rev. Lett. **118**, 042501 (2017)
- Hyperfine structure of ^{229(m)}Th²⁺ measured via collinear laser spectroscopy
 J. Thielking *et al.*, Nature 556, 321-325 (2018)
- Excitation energy measurement: via conversion electrons $\rightarrow E_{ex} = 8.28 \pm 0.17 \text{ eV}$ B. Seiferle *et al.*, Nature 573, 243–246 (2019) via magnetic microcalorimetry $\rightarrow E_{ex} = 8.10 \pm 0.17 \text{ eV}$ T. Sikorsky *et al.*, Phys. Rev. Lett. 125, 142503 (2020) via radiative decay $\rightarrow E_{ex} = 8.338 \pm 0.024 \text{ eV}$ S. Kraemer *et al.*, Nature 617, 706–710 (2023)
- Expected systematic frequency uncertainty $\frac{\Delta \nu}{\nu} = 1.5 \times 10^{-19}$ C. Campbell *et al.*, Phys. Rev. Lett. **108**, 120802 (2012)

ECCTI - 8.7.2024 - Holthoff & Wiesinger - LMU München







- Same operation principle as atomic clocks but strong interaction contributes to transition frequency
 → complementary to atomic clocks where the transition frequency is determined by the Coulomb force [1,2]
- Search for time variation of fundamental constants ($\dot{\alpha}$, Λ) \rightarrow ²²⁹ Th provides a largely enhanced sensitivity to changes in α [1, 3, 4]
- Search for ultralight Dark Matter candidates [1, 5]
- Improved precision of satellite-based navigation [5]
- Gravity sensor: 10⁻¹⁸ relative precision corresponds to gravitational frequency shifts caused by 1 cm height difference [5]
 → systematic uncertainty ≈ 1 mm height difference

[1] E. Peik *et al.*, Quantum Science and Technology **6**, 034002 (2021)
 [2] K. Beeks *et al.*, Nat. Rev. Phys. **3**, 238–248 (2021)
 [3] J. P. Uzan, Living Rev. Relativ. **14**, 2 (2011)
 [4] V. V. Flambaum, Phys. Rev. Lett. **97**, 092502 (2006)
 [5] P. G. Thirolf et al., Annalen der Physik **531**, 1800381 (2019)



 $f_{2} = f_{1} + \Delta f_{2}$



Recent Breakthroughs



PTB / TU Wien Team: Laser excitation of Th-229 in a CaF₂ crystal $\nu = 2020.409(7)$ THz E = 8.35574(3) eV $\lambda = 148.3821(5)$ nm

J. Tiedau et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 132 182501 (2024)

UCLA Team: Laser excitation of Th-229 in a LiSrAlF₆ crystal $\nu = 2020 407.3(5)_{stat}(30)_{sys}$ GHz E = 8.355 733(2)_{stat}(10)_{sys} eV

 $\lambda = 148.382 \ 19(4)_{\text{stat}}(20)_{\text{sys}} \ \text{nm}$



R. Elwell *et al.,* Phys. Rev. Lett. **133**, 013201 (2024)

JILA Boulder / TU Wien Team: Frequency comb spectroscopy of Th-229 in a CaF₂ crystal

ν_{Th} = 2 020 407 384 335(2) kHz

 $v_{\text{Th}}/v_{\text{Sr}}$ = 4.707 072 615 078(5)



Cryogenic Paul-Trap Experiment at LMU

thorium



LUDWIG-

Laser System



 422 nm diode laser for Sr⁺ cooling stabilized to Rb cell

LUDWIG-MAXIMILIANS-UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN

- 1092 nm diode laser for Sr⁺ repumping stabilized to wavemeter
- 690 nm & 984 nm diode laser for Th³⁺ spectroscopy stabilized to wavemeter
- Pulsed 532 nm
 Nd:YAG laser
 for Sr⁺ ablation









9

ECCTI - 8.7.2024 - Holthoff & Wiesinger - LMU München



⁸⁸Sr⁺ Laser Cooling



10

⁸⁸Sr⁺ laser cooling scheme:





Crystal with several hundred ions 10 V well depth







LUDWIG-MAXIMILIANS-UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN



⁸⁸Sr⁺ Temperature Estimate

- Scan of 422 nm resonance (6 ions)
- Fit a truncated Voigt profile
- Gaussian width gives estimate of ion temperature ⇒ 64 mK



thorium nuclear clock



starting with 6 ions

Cryogenic measurement starting with 6 ions (with parts of the thermal shielding not yet installed ⇒ 20 K)



Room temperature measuremer starting with 6 ions

Cryogenic measurement starting with 6 ions (with parts of the thermal shielding not yet installed ⇒ 20 K)



- Alpha decay of ²³³U (10 kBc)
- Recoil daughters ²²⁹Th (98%) and ^{229m}Th (2%) with 84 keV kinetic energy
- Stopped in 30 mbar He buffer gas
- Collected with RF funnel
- Re-accelerated by supersonic gas jet through de Laval nozzle (d = 400 μm)



LUDWIG-MAXIMILIANS-UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN

15

thorium



LUDWIG-MAXIMILIANS-UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN







Differential Pumping



17

• Vacuum requirement:

32 mbar He in buffer-gas cell

<10⁻⁸ mbar in ion trap

 Differential Pumping!



• Vacuum achieved:

32 mbar He in buffer-gas cell

5x10⁻³ mbar in RFQ

7x10⁻⁶ mbar in Ion Guide

6x10⁻⁷ mbar in QMS

6x10⁻⁹ mbar in ion trap



Mass Spectra of Th³⁺

thorium nuclear clock

- RFQ section: non-mass selective
- IG section: mass selective or non-mass selective



Dawson, Quadrupole Mass Spectrometry and Its Applications (1976)



ECCTI - 8.7.2024 - Holthoff & Wiesinger - LMU München



Pulsed Extraction and Re-Trapping of Th³⁺

Pulsing the RFQ voltage from trapping to extraction:



Catching the Th³⁺ ions in the Paul trap:

thorium





Mixed Th³⁺ Sr⁺ Ion Crystals



A cloud of Sr⁺ ions before loading Th³⁺



Note: point spread function contains aberrations



20

A mixed cloud of Sr⁺ and Th³⁺ ions after loading Th³⁺



 $Sr^{+} + Th^{3+}$



Mixed Th³⁺ Sr⁺ Ion Crystals

thorium nuclear clock

Sr⁺ - Th³⁺ Coulomb Crystal









Spectroscopy of the electronic transitions of ^{229(m)}Th³⁺ and resolving the HFS

Lifetime measurement of the isomer in ^{229m}Th³⁺ in vacuum

VUV frequency comb spectroscopy of the nuclear transition





Many Thanks to the LMU-Team ...



From left to right: Kevin Scharl Stephan Wissenberg (Yoda) Markus Wiesinger **Daniel Moritz** Mahmood I. Hussain (Obi-Wan) Peter G. Thirolf Georg Holthoff Lilli Löbell Tim Theuner (Qui-Gon Jinn) Tamila Rozibakieva

thorium

... and our International Colleagues

ERC Synergy: Ekkehard Peik (PTB) Gregor Zitzer Johannes Tiedau Ke Zhang Maksim Okhapkin Piet O. Schmidt Adriana Pálffy (University of Würzburg) Tobias Kirschbaum Marianna Safronova (University of Delaware) Johannes Weitenberg (ILT Fraunhofer) Hans-Dieter Hoffmann (ILT Fraunhofer) Thorsten Schumm (TU Vienna) David Werban Fabian Schaden Georgy Kasakov Kjeld Beeks Luca Toscani de Col

Martin Pimon Martin Pressler Michael Bartokos Thomas Pronebner Thomas Sikorsky Ira Morawitz

Other:

Lars v. d. Wense (MPQ) Piet van Duppen (KU Leuven) Sandro Kraemer, Janni Moens Eric Hudson (UCLA) Ricky Elwell, James Terhune Peter Micke (MPI Heidelberg) José Crespo López-Urrutia (MPI Heidelberg) Timo Dickel (GSI) Wolfgang Plaß (GSI)



Funded by
Deutsche
Forschungsgemeinschaft
German Research Foundation





thorium

nuclear clock

European Research Council Established by the European Commission

24

LUDWIG-

MAXIMILIANS UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN





Thank You for Your Attention!