May 13 – 17, 2024
University of Pittsburgh / Carnegie Mellon University
US/Eastern timezone

The 2024 edition of the APS Division of Particles & Fields (DPF) Meeting  will be hosted collaboratively by the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. This meeting will be combined with the annual Phenomenology Symposium (Pheno) for a single year, and the joint event is set to take place from May 13 to 17, 2024. It will cover the latest topics in particle physics theory and experiment, plus related issues in astrophysics and cosmology. We would like to encourage you to register and submit an abstract for a parallel talk. All talks at the symposium are expected to be in person. There will be no poster sessions in this conference. The conference adjourns at 1:00 PM, Friday May 17. We hope to see you in May!

Early registration ends April 8, 2024

Parallel talk abstract submission deadline has been extended to April 8, 2024

Registration closes April 19 (Friday), 2024

Student travel award application deadline April 1 2024

--- News --- 

We are grateful to the Department of Energy, Office of High Energy Physics, to hold PI (Principal Investigators) meeting sessions at DPF-Pheno 2024, as follows:
- General DOE/HEP FOA Presentation session (e.g., Comparative Review, ECRP, QIS) by William Kilgore: Monday from 12:30 to 2:00 pm
- Computational HEP and AI/ML session by Jeremy Love: Tuesday from 12:30 to 2:00 pm
- Energy Frontier session by Abid Patwa: Tuesday from 12:30 to 2:00 pm
- Cosmic Frontier session by Bryan Field and Manuel Batista: Wednesday from 12:30 to 2:00 pm
- Early Career Session with for Undergraduates, Graduate Students, and Postdocs by Alan Stone: Wednesday from 12:30 to 2:00 pm 
- HEP Theory session by William Kilgore: Wednesday from 5:30 to 7:00 pm
- Intensity Frontier session by Brian Beckford: Wednesday from 5:30 to 7:00 pm
For details, please see the indico page.


  • Accelerators
  • Instrumentation
  • Computing, Analysis Tool and Data Handling
  • Machine Learning & AI
  • Quantum Information & Sensors
  • Electroweak & Higgs Physics
  • Top Quark Physics
  • Quark and Lepton Flavor Physics 
  • Neutrino Physics
  • QCD & Heavy Ion Physics
  • Dark Matter 
  • Physics Beyond the Standard Model
  • Astro-particle Physics
  • Cosmology & Dark Energy
  • Gravity & Gravitational Waves
  • Lattice Gauge Theory
  • Quantum Field & String Theory
  • Outreach, Community Engagement & DEI


Zeeshan Ahmed, Aram Apyan, Ketevi Assamagan, Carlos Arguelles, Elke Aschenauer,  Christian Bauer, Tulika Bose, Andrew Brinkerhoff, Gabriella Carini, Valentina Dutta, Peter Elmer, Mark Elsesse, Jonathan Feng, Carter Hall, Erin Hansen, Roni Harnik, David Hertzog, Kevin Kelly, Kiley Kennedy, Peter Lewis, Elliot Lipeles, Kendall Mahn, Sudhir Malik, Julie Managan, Rachel Mandelbaum, Ethan Neil, Tim Nelson, Laura Reina, David Saltzberg, Mayly Sanchez, Kate Scholberg, Vladimir Shiltsev, Jesse Thaler, Jaroslv Trnka, Sven Vahsen, Daniel Whiteson, Jure Zupan, Kathryn Zurek ... ... 


Conference Reception: Monday May 13 

Early Career Forum: Tuesday May 14 at noon

Public Lecture by Prof. Hitoshi Murayama: Tuesday May 14

Conference Banquet: Thursday May 16

Student Travel Awards: With support from DPF, there are a number of awards (up to $300 each) available to graduate students from US institutions for travel and accommodation to DPF-Pheno 24. A student applicant should send an updated CV and a statement of financial need, indication of the talk submission to DPF-Pheno 24, and arrange for a short recommendation letter sent from their thesis advisor, by email to with the subject line "DPF-Pheno 24 travel assistance". The decision will be based on the academic qualification and the financial need. The deadline for the application is April 1 (same as the abstract submission), and the winners will be notified by April 19. Winner institutes and names will be announced at the conference banquet. 

DPF - PHENO 2024 PROGRAM COMMITTEE: Todd Adams (Florida State U.), Andrea Albert (LANL), Timothy Andeen (U. Texas), Emanuela Barberis (Northeastern U.), Robert Bernstein (FNAL), Sapta Bhattacharya (Wayne State), Tom Browder (U. Hawaii), Stephen Butalla (Florida Tech), Joel Butler (FNAL), Mu-Chun Chen (UC Irvine), Sekhar Chivukula (UC San Diego), Sarah Demers (Yale U.), Dmitri Denisov (BNL), Bertrand Echenard (Caltech), Sarah Eno (U. Maryland), Andre de Gouvea (Northwestern U.), Tao Han (U. Pittsburgh), Mike Kordosky (William and Mary), Mark Messier (Indiana U.), Marco Muzio (Penn State U.), Jason Nielsen (UC Santa Cruz), Vaia Papadimitriou (FNAL), Manfred Paulini (CMU), Heidi Schellman (Oregon State Univ.), Gary Shiu (U. Wisconsin-Madison), Tom Shutt (SLAC), Mayda Velasco (Northwestern U.), Gordon Watts (U. Washington),  Peter Winter (ANL).

DPF - PHENO 2024 LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:  John Alison (CMU), Brian Batell (U. Pitt), Amit Bhoonah (U. Pitt), Matteo Cremonesi (CMU), Arnab Dasgupta (U. Pitt), Valentina Dutta (CMU), Ayres Freitas (U. Pitt), Akshay Ghalsasi (U. Pitt), Joni George (U. Pitt), Grace Gollinger (U. Pitt), Tao Han (U. Pitt), Tae Min Hong (U. Pitt), Arthur Kosowsky (U. Pitt), Da Liu (U. Pitt), Matthew Low (U. Pitt), James Mueller (U. Pitt), Donna Naples (U. Pitt), Vittorio Paolone (U. Pitt), Diana Parno (CMU), Manfred Paulini (CMU), Andrew Zentner (U. Pitt).


Pheno 2023
University of Pittsburgh / Carnegie Mellon University