

Astroparticle Physics European Consortium

Katharina Henjes-Kunst APPEC General Assembly February 2024, remote



- New SAC members + GA chair and General Secretary
- INFRA-2023-SERV-01-02: Common Proposal with European Astronomy (ACME)→ Atoine/ Julie
- JENA Computing/ Astroparticle Computing -> Andreas
- New APPEC partners: DK, ESA as observer? -> Andreas





• During General Assembly in December composition of new SAC was discussed, now 14+7

А	В	С	D	E	F	G	н	1	J
Country	Cosmic Rays	High Energy Photons	Ultra-High Energy Neutrinos	GW	Neutrino Properties	Dark Matter	Dark Energy	Cosmology CMB	Theory
FR		Mathieu De Naurois		Edwige Tournefier			Stéphanie Escoffier	Sotiris Loucatos	
DE			Anna Nelles		Christian Weinheimer				Joachim Kopp
ES					Prof. Concha González-Ga	arcía			
IT				Marica Branchesi	Oliviero Cremonesi	Aldo Ianni			
FI									
SE									
Greece									
cz									Fedor Simkovich
BE	Ionna Maris								
HU									
PL						Marcin Kuźniak			
РТ									
RU									
СН									
UK		Paula Chadwick	Chad Finley				Ofer Lahav		
AT									
NL			Maarten de Jong						
SAC	Sijbrand de Jong							Elina Keihanen (FI)	Irene Tamborra (DK)

APPEC SAC

APPEC

Article 4, APPEC MoU: Scientific Advisory Committee

•The General Assembly shall establish a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC):

- (a) to examine and report on issues of strategic scientific importance within their fields of competence;
- (b) to propose programs or projects for adoption as activities of APPEC; and
- (c) to organize activities or carry out other tasks entrusted to them by the General Assembly.

•The General Assembly shall nominate the Chairperson of the SAC among its members for a mandate of two years, renewable once.

•The Chairperson shall convene the SAC at least once a year and shall report to the General Assembly.

•The operation of Scientific Advisory Committee shall be set under the rules of procedure of APPEC as approved by the General Assembly.

•The members serve 'ad personam'.

APPEC MoU

Finally....

- 3 partners have sent back there signed MoUs, others are on the way to DESY
- we can't change anything in the MoU now
- but we can give us "rules of procedure"
- only at the time all initial partners have signed the new MoU starts and others can join by signing an acession document



For General Secretary and Chair of General Assembly

- Ivan Stekl, Aldo Ianni, Krijn de Vries and Vincent Poireau agreed to join
- first meeting is on 14th of March
- aim is to start the search process for new General Secretary and Chair and prepare the election in summer
- smooth transition General Secretary in summer and Chair of GA in winter, if the MoU is fully signed

