Report on the activities of C18 from October 21 to October 24.

Nominations:

Professor Sylvia Serfaty was nominated as associate member of C18, in her capacity of vice president of the International Association of Mathematical Physics.

Sponsored conferences:

Every year, the call for IUPAP conference support is disseminated within the community, and C18 recommends certain of them for funding or endorsement. The following conferences recommended by C18 and sponsored by IUPAP took place between 2022 and 2024:

- Qmath15 (Mathematical Results in Quantum Theory) in UC Davis, September 2022,
- Group34 (34th International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics) in Strasbourg, July 2022,
- International Congress of Mathematical Physics (ICMP) took place in Strasbourg in July 2024. This is the main periodic IUPAP sponsored event for Mathematical Physics.

For next year, Qmath16 (Mathematical Results in Quantum Theory), scheduled to take place in Munich in 2025 is recommended by C18 for funding.

Early Career Scientist Prizes:

The chair of C18 was actively involved in the selection of the laureate of the new IUPAP Interdisciplinary Early Career Scientist Prize, that was awarded in October 2023.

The commission for Mathematical Physics attributes these prizes every three years to three young scientists, in recognition of exceptional achievements in mathematical physics by scientists at relatively early stages of their careers. Instead of awarding one prize every year, C18 has elected to recognize three researchers with a IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize once every three years in sync with the schedule of the ICMP conferences.

The call for nominations was issued in Spring 2023 and the selection process took place between the Fall 2023 and Spring 2024. A prize committee

consisting of Nilanjana Datta (Secretary of C18), Jan de Gier (Member of C18), Alain Joye (Chair of C18), Yoshiko Ogata (Member of C18) and Simone Warzel (Vice-chair of C18) was in charge of selecting three laureates among the dozen very strong nominations we received. The three laureates, Professor Lea Bossmann, Professor Wencai Liu and Professor Amanda Young were presented during the ICMP which took place in Strasbourg France in July 2024, where they presented their work. See https://iupap.org/who-we-are/internal-organization/commissions/c18-mathematical-physics/c18-news/ for biographies of the winners and the citation for their award.

Next commission:

Several discussion among officers concerning nomination proposals for the next Commission Chair, Officers and Members took place during the academic year 2023-2024. The objective is to ensure a certain continuity within the commission and to achieve an equilibrium among scientific topics and a broad representation of mathematical physicists from all over the world.