

Emmanuel Tsesmelis

Head of Associate Member State and Non-Member State Relations CERN

19th Joint CERN-KEK Committee Meeting 26 November 2024



Science for peace

CERN was founded in 1954 with 12 European Member States

24 Member States

Austria – Belgium – Bulgaria – Czech Republic
Denmark – Estonia – Finland – France – Germany
Greece – Hungary – Israel – Italy – Netherlands
Norway – Poland – Portugal – Romania – Serbia
Slovakia – Spain – Sweden – Switzerland – United Kingdom

2 Associate Member States in the pre-stage to membership Cyprus – Slovenia

8 Associate Member States

Brazil – Croatia – India – Latvia – Lithuania – Pakistan Türkiye – Ukraine

6 Observers

Japan – Russia (suspended) – USA European Union – JINR (suspended) – UNESCO

The applications of Chile and Ireland for Associate Membership are being considered at the CERN Council.



CERN's annual budget is 1200 MCHF (equivalent to a medium-sized European university)

As of 31 December 2023 Employees: 2666 staff, 1002 graduates Associates: 12 370 users, 1513 others

Around 50 Cooperation Agreements with non-Member States and Territories

Albania – Algeria – Argentina – Armenia – Australia – Azerbaijan – Bangladesh – Bolivia – Bosnia and Herzegovina Canada – Chile – Colombia – Costa Rica – Ecuador – Egypt – Georgia – Honduras – Iceland – Iran – Jordan Kazakhstan – Lebanon – Malta – Mexico – Mongolia – Montenegro – Morocco – Nepal – New Zealand North Macedonia – Palestine – Paraguay – People's Republic of China – Peru – Philippines – Qatar – Republic of Korea Saudi Arabia – Sri Lanka – South Africa – Thailand – Tunisia – United Arab Emirates – Vietnam

A laboratory for people around the world

Distribution of all CERN Users by the country of their home institutes as of 31 December 2023



Geographical & cultural diversity
Users of 110 nationalities
23.7 % women

Member States 7467

Austria 86 – Belgium 129 – Bulgaria 46 – Czech Republic 252 Denmark 47 – Estonia 29 – Finland 88 – France 842 – Germany 1296 Greece 112 – Hungary 80 – Israel 74 – Italy 1609 – Netherlands 167 Norway 77 – Poland 322 – Portugal 105 – Romania 113 Serbia 38 – Slovakia 67 – Spain 413 – Sweden 106 Switzerland 419 – United Kingdom 950

Associate Member States

in the pre-stage to membership **40** Cyprus 14 – Slovenia 26

Associate Member States 541

Brazil 135 – Croatia 37 – India 145 – Latvia 21 – Lithuania 17 – Pakistan 30 Türkiye 129 – Ukraine 27

Observers 3005

Japan 219 - Russia (suspended) 779 - United States of America 2007



Non-Member States and Territories 1317

Algeria 2 – Argentina 16 – Armenia 16 – Australia 26 – Azerbaijan 3 – Bahrain 3 – Belarus 14 – Canada 206 Chile 45 – China 414 – Colombia 24 – Costa Rica 3 – Cuba 3 – Ecuador 4 – Egypt 24 – Georgia 34 – Hong Kong 15 Iceland 3 – Indonesia 7 – Iran 14 – Ireland 4 – Jordan 3 – Kazakhstan 3 – Kuwait 2 – Lebanon 7 – Madagascar 1 Malaysia 4 – Malta 1 – Mexico 56 – Montenegro 3 – Morocco 18 – New Zealand 2 – Nigeria 2 – Oman 1 Palestine 1 – Peru 3 – Philippines 1 – Republic of Korea 168 – Saudi Arabia 6 – South Africa 61 – Sri Lanka 10 Taiwan 52 – Thailand 17 – Tunisia 4 – United Arab Emirates 10 – Vietnam 1

Observer States

At its session in September 2024, Council decided to grant **Japan Observer status in respect of the HL-LHC** project, for the duration of the construction and operation of the HL-LHC.

Japan joins the **United States** as an Observer State in respect of the HL-LHC project, in addition to the Observer status that both already held for the LHC.