21-25 May 2012
New York City, NY, USA
US/Eastern timezone

Multi-core job submission and grid resource scheduling for ATLAS AthenaMP

21 May 2012, 16:35
Eisner & Lubin Auditorium (Kimmel Center)

Eisner & Lubin Auditorium

Kimmel Center

Parallel Distributed Processing and Analysis on Grids and Clouds (track 3) Distributed Processing and Analysis on Grids and Clouds


Andrew John Washbrook (University of Edinburgh (GB))


AthenaMP is the multi-core implementation of the ATLAS software framework and allows the efficient sharing of memory pages between multiple threads of execution. This has now been validated for production and delivers a significant reduction on overall memory footprint with negligible CPU overhead. Before AthenaMP can be routinely run on the LHC Computing Grid, it must be determined how the computing resources available to ATLAS can best exploit the notable improvements delivered by switching to this multi-process model. In particular, there is a need to identify and assess the potential impact of scheduling issues where single core and multi-core job queues have access to the same underlying resources. A study into the effectiveness and scalability of AthenaMP in a production environment will be presented. Submitting AthenaMP tasks to the Tier-0 and candidate Tier-2 sites will allow detailed measurement of worker node performance and also highlight the relative performance of local resource management systems (LRMS) in handling large volumes of multi-core jobs. Best practices for configuring the main LRMS implementations currently used by Tier-2 sites will be identified in the context of multi-core job optimisation. There will also be a discussion on how existing Grid middleware and the ATLAS job submission pilot model could use scheduling information to increase the overall efficiency of multi-core job throughput.

Primary author


Andrew John Washbrook (University of Edinburgh (GB)) Armin Nairz (CERN) David Crooks (University of Glasgow (GB)) Mr David Lesny (Univ. Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (US)) Douglas Smith (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (US)) Dr Horst Severini (University of Oklahoma (US)) Paolo Calafiura (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US)) Dr Robert Duane Harrington Jr (University of Edinburgh) Sam Skipsey (NeSC/Edinburgh University) Stuart Purdie (University of Glasgow-Unknown-Unknown) Mr Vakhtang Tsulaia (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US))

Presentation Materials