











































... and how do we accelerate now ??? with the dipole magnets !

Energy ramping is simply obtained by varying the B field:

$$p = eB\rho \implies \frac{dp}{dt} = e\rho \dot{B} \implies (\Delta p)_{turn} = e\rho \dot{B}T_p = \frac{2\pi e\rho RB}{v}$$

Energy Gain per turn: $E^2 = E_0^2 + p^2 c^2 \implies \Delta E = v \Delta p$

$$\Delta E_{hurn} = \Delta W_{hurn} = 2\pi e \rho RB = eV \sin \phi$$

•The number of stable synchronous particles is equal to the harmonic number h. They are equally spaced along the circumference.

•Each synchronous particle satifies the relation $p=eB\rho$. They have the nominal energy and follow the nominal trajectory.







Second Energy-Phase Equation

The rate of energy gained by a particle is:

$$\frac{dE}{dt} = \frac{1}{T_r} * e\hat{V}\sin\phi = \frac{\omega_r}{2\pi} * e\hat{V}\sin\phi$$

The rate of relative energy gain with respect to the reference particle is then:

$$2\pi\Delta\left(\frac{\dot{E}}{\omega_r}\right) = e\hat{V}(\sin\phi - \sin\phi_s)$$

Expanding the left hand side to first order:

$$\Delta(\dot{E}T_r) \cong \dot{E}_s \Delta T_r + T_m \Delta \dot{E} = \Delta E \dot{T}_m + T_m \Delta \dot{E} = \frac{d}{dt} (T_m \Delta E)$$

leads to the second energy-phase equation:

$$2\pi \frac{d}{dt} \left(\frac{\Delta E}{\omega_{rs}} \right) = e \hat{V} \left(\sin \phi - \sin \phi_s \right)$$















