Sep 7 – 12, 2014
University of Surrey
GB timezone
Arrival information and the latest Conference Programme can be downloaded using the link at the bottom of the home page

Charge Collection Efficiency of micro-strip Silicon Sensors Designed for studying charge multiplication after hadron irradiation

Sep 12, 2014, 9:30 AM
AP1&2 (University of Surrey)


University of Surrey

Guildford, UK
Oral Paper Detectors for High Radiation and Extreme Environments Session 15: Detectors for High Radiation and Extreme Environments


Sven Wonsak (University of Liverpool (GB))


The signal induced by minimum ionising particles in silicon strip detectors specially designed to investigate the process of charge multiplication has been studied by research groups within the CERN RD50 collaboration. In particular, various geometries of the implanted strips have been implemented on miniature (~1x1 cm$^2$) micro-strip sensors on a 6” wafer to observe the effect of these variations on the electric field strength. The sensors, produced by Micron Semiconductor Ltd, vary in strip pitch and strip width, in the use of intermediate biased or floating strips between the readout strips and also in sensor thickness. In addition to the standard implant process, the implant energy for the phosphorous doping (n-type strips) and the diffusion time were increased for some devices to study the possible impact of the depth junction profile on charge multiplication. Charge collection measurements were performed with the ALiBaVa readout setup before and after irradiation with a proton fluence of 1e15 neq/cm$^2$ and neutron fluences of 1e15 and 5e15 1MeV neq/cm$^2$ (neq/cm$^2$). Several sensors exhibit enhancement of the collected charge compared to the standard sensor (pitch 80μm, width 25μm) after neutron irradiation of 5e15 neq/cm$^2$. Results of ongoing room temperature annealing studies, as well as TCT/eTCT (Transient Current Technique / edge TCT) studies will be presented.

Primary author

Sven Wonsak (University of Liverpool (GB))


Christian Gallrapp (CERN) Christopher Betancourt (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Dean Charles Forshaw (University of Liverpool (GB)) Gianluigi Casse (University of Liverpool (GB)) Hannes Neugebauer (Hamburg University (DE)) Karl Jakobs (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Maira Thomas (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Marc Manuel Hauser (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Marcos Fernandez Garcia (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Michael Moll (CERN) Paul Dervan (University of Liverpool (GB)) Dr Peter Kodys (Charles University) Philipp Sommer (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Riccardo Mori (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Susanne Kuehn (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Tom Barber (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Ulrich Parzefall (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE))

Presentation materials