Sep 7 – 12, 2014
University of Surrey
GB timezone
Arrival information and the latest Conference Programme can be downloaded using the link at the bottom of the home page

Comparative Study of LaBr3(Ce) and CZT Array on Determination of Uranium Enrichment for Nuclear Safeguards Application

Sep 11, 2014, 2:00 PM
1h 40m
University of Surrey

University of Surrey

Guildford, UK
Poster Presentation Applications in Security and Environmental Imaging Session 13: Posters 2 (Astrophysics, Synchroton and other Applications)


Dr Sung-Woo Kwak (Korea Institute of Nuclear Nonproliferation and Control)


Uranium enrichment is one of the most important factors in nuclear material safeguards. The accuracy of the IAEA's verification methods is dependent upon the type for a radiation detector used during inspections. The IAEA''s COMPUCEA (COMbined Procedure for Uranium Concentration and Enrichment Assay) employs the use of LaBr3 (Ce) to measure uranium enrichment at low-enriched uranium fuel fabrication plants. The most important feature of COMPUCEA is its use for on-site analytical measurerment. To improve accuracy and convenience of COMPUCEA as an in-field measurement instrument, this paper will examine ways of replacing LaBr3 (Ce) with cadmium zinc telluride (CZT). Low detection efficiency of CZT (which is the major drawback in radiation measurement) can be addressed by adopting several-CZT arrays. The Monte Carlo simulation (MCNPX) shows that a dual crystal array of two 1.5 cm x 1.5 cm x 0.75 cm has similar detection efficiency to that of a 5.08 cm (Dia.) x 2.54 cm (Length) LaBr3(Ce). Good energy resolution and the small size of the CZT would make it possible to develop more accurate and convenient COMPUCEA-like instrument. Adoption of an array-type CZT detector can also reduce power consumption. How to design an optimal CZT array, and to realize a CZT array-based uranium enrichment measurement system will be discussed in detail at the conference.

Primary author

Dr Sung-Woo Kwak (Korea Institute of Nuclear Nonproliferation and Control)


Dr Iljin Park (Korea Institute of Nuclear Nonproliferation and Control) Dr Seunghoon Park (Korea Institute of Nuclear Nonproliferation and Control)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.