11-15 February 2013
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Novel Fabrication Techniques for Low Mass Composite Structures in Silicon Particle Detectors

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gußhausstraße 25-29, 1040 Wien (Vienna), Austria
Board: 65
Poster Semiconductor Detectors


Neal David Hartman (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US))


Detector structural design is governed by competing demands of reducing mass while maximizing stability and accuracy. These demands can only be met by fiber reinforced composite laminates. As detecting sensors and electronics become lower mass, the motivation to reduce structure as a proportion of overall mass pushes modern detector structures to the minimum limits of composite ply thickness, while demanding maximum stiffness afforded by ultra-high modulus graphite fibers. However, classical approaches to composite laminate design require symmetric laminates and flat structures, in order to minimize warping during fabrication. This constraint of symmetry in laminate design, and a "flat plate" approach to fabrication, results in heavier structures. This study presents an approach to fabricating stable and accurate, geometrically complex composite structures by bonding warped, asymmetric, but ultra-thin component laminates together in an accurate tool, achieving final overall precision normally associated with planar structures. This technique has been used to fabricate a prototype "I-beam" that support two layers of detecting elements, while being up to 4 times stiffer and up to 30% lower mass than two comparable, independent planar structures (classically known as "staves"). This fabrication technique may be extended to even more complex shapes, combining more detecting elements and reducing structural overhead, all while maintaining excellent stability and accuracy.
quote your primary experiment ATLAS Pixel Detector

Primary author

Neal David Hartman (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US))


Eric Anderssen (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US)) Joseph Silber (LBNL) Mauricio Garcia-Sciveres (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US)) Murdock Gilchriese (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US)) Thomas Allan Johnson (Physics Division)

Presentation Materials