11-15 February 2013
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Characterization and simulation of resistive-MPGDs with resistive strip and layer topologies

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gußhausstraße 25-29, 1040 Wien (Vienna), Austria
Board: 17
Poster Gaseous Detectors


Javier Galan Lacarra (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR))


The use of resistive technologies to MPGD detectors is taking advantage for many new applications, including high rate and energetic particle flux scenarios. The recent use of these technologies in large area detectors makes necessary to understand and characterize the response of this type of detectors in order to optimize or constrain the parameters used in its production, material resistivity, strip width, or layer thickness. The values to be chosen will depend on the environmental conditions in which the detector will be placed, and the requirements in time resolution and gain, improving the detector performance for each given application. We present two different methods to calculate the propagation of charge diffusion through different resistive topologies; one is based on a FEM of solving the telegraph equation in our particular strip detector scheme, the other is based on a semi-analytical approach of charge diffusion and is used to determine the charge evolution in a resistive layer. The results will be compared to those obtained experimentally with a piggyback structure, based on resistive plate technology, and with different resistive-strip micromegas prototypes which are based on the technology which was developed for the LHC ATLAS upgrade. The results obtained with the simulation will be extrapolated to larger detector areas to estimate the effects of the resistivity on the gain homogeneity as a function of the strip length.
quote your primary experiment ATLAS LHC upgrade

Primary author

Javier Galan Lacarra (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR))


Alain Delbart (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) Dr Alan Peyaud (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) Fabien Jeanneau (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) Ioanis Giomataris (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) Joerg Wotschack (CERN) Philippe Schune (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) Rui De Oliveira (CERN) Thomas Papaevangelou (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) esther ferrer ribas

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.