11-15 February 2013
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

The Focusing DIRC: an innovative PID detector

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gußhausstraße 25-29, 1040 Wien (Vienna), Austria
Board: 10
Poster Cherenkov Detectors


Mr Martino Borsato (LAL (IN2P3/CNRS & Université Paris Sud))


The FDIRC (Focusing Detector of Internally Reflected Cherenkov light) is a new concept of PID detector which aims at separating kaons from pions up to a few GeV/c. It is the successor of the BaBar DIRC and benefits from the knowledge accumulated with a first FDIRC prototype built and operated at SLAC. The FDIRC is intended to be used at the SuperB experiment whose luminosity will be 100 times higher than for PEP-II and KEK-B. Backgrounds will be higher as well; yet, the FDIRC has been designed to perform at least as the DIRC. The main improvement is a complete redesign of the photon camera, moving from a huge tank of ultra-pure water to much smaller focusing cameras with sophisticated solid fused-silica optics. The BaBar camera was sensitive to background and its operation required constant attention. The new cameras are instrumented with Hamamatsu H-8500 MaPMTs, readout by new front-end electronics. The detection chain will be 10 times faster than in BaBar, to reject more background and measure more accurately Cherenkov angles. A full-scale FDIRC prototype has been successfully built at SLAC and will soon start taking cosmics data. The aim of this test is to validate the camera design, measure the Cherenkov angle resolution, test the electronics and validate the FDIRC simulation. In this talk, we summarize the FDIRC design, present the status of the prototype test at SLAC and review all activities ongoing in the various labs participating to the development of the FDIRC.
quote your primary experiment SuperB, BaBar

Primary author

Nicolas Arnaud (LAL (CNRS-IN2P3))


Mr Abdelmowafak El Berni (LAL (IN2P3/CNRS and Université Paris Sud)) Prof. Achille Stocchi (LAL (IN2P3/CNRS and Université Paris Sud)) Alexander Barnyakov (Budker Institute for Nuclear Physics (INP)) Dr Alexei Onuchin (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, Russia) Dr Biplab Dey (University of California, Riverside, USA) Blair Ratcliff (SLAC) Christophe Beigbeder-Beau (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) David Leith (SLAC, Stanford University) Prof. Dmitry Shtol (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, Russia) Dominique Robert Breton (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) Prof. Douglas Roberts (University of Maryland, USA) Ellie Twedt (University of Maryland) Evgeniy Kravchenko (Budker INP) Fabio Gargano (Univ. + INFN) Francesco Giordano (Univ. + INFN) Francesco Loparco (Universita e INFN (IT)) Dr Gabriele Simi (University of Maryland) Gary Varner (University of Hawaii) Mr Gianmaria Collazuol (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Sezione di Padova, I-35131 Padova, Italy) Hassan Jawahery (University of Maryland (US)) Dr Jerry Va'vra (SLAC) Jihane Maalmi (Laboratoire de l'Accelerateur Lineaire, IN2P3-CNRS (LAL)-Univers) Kurtis Nishimura (University of Hawai) Leonid Burmistrov (LAL) Mario Nicola Mazziotta (Sezione di Bari (INFN)-Universita e INFN) Prof. Mario Posocco (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Sezione di Padova, I-35131 Padova, Italy)) Mr Martino Borsato (LAL (IN2P3/CNRS & Université Paris Sud)) Massimo Benettoni (Universita e INFN (IT)) Mikhail Barnyakov (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Roberto Stroili (Università degli Studi di Padova & INFN) Dr Sergey A. Kononov (Budker Inst. Novosibirsk) Mrs Vanessa Tocut (LAL (IN2P3/CNRS and University Paris Sud)) Véronique Puill Mr hervé lebbolo (LPNHE IN2P3 CNRS)

Presentation Materials