Pixel sensors with different pitch layouts for ATLAS Phase-II upgrade

3 Jun 2014, 16:50
Veilingzaal (Beurs van Berlage)


Beurs van Berlage

Oral Sensors: 1b) Semiconductor Detectors I.b Semiconductors


Paul Dervan (University of Liverpool (GB))


Different pitch layouts are considered for the pixel detector being designed for the ATLAS upgraded tracking system which will be operating at the High Luminosity LHC. The tracking performance in the Endcap pixel regions could benefit from pixel layouts which differ from the geometries used in the barrel region. Also, the performance in different barrel layers and eta regions could be optimized using different pixel sizes. This presentation will report on the development and tests of pitch layouts which could be readout by the FE-I4 ASICs. The pixel geometries include 50x250 um2, 25x500 um2, 100x125 um2, 125x167 um2, 50x2000 um2 and 25x2000 um2. The sensors with geometries 50x250 um2, 25x500 um2 and 100x125 um2 were irradiated and tested at the DESY testbeam. These and other testbeam results as well as results from characterization of these sensors in the laboratory will be presented.

Primary authors

Marko Milovanovic (University of Liverpool (GB)) Paul Dervan (University of Liverpool (GB)) Sergey Burdin (University of Liverpool (GB))


Dr Andrew Blue (University of Glasgow) Andrew Stewart (U) Corrinne Mills (University of Edinburgh (GB)) Craig Buttar (University of Glasgow (GB)) Dean Charles Forshaw (University of Liverpool (GB)) Fiona Mcewan (University of Glasgow (GB)) Frederick Doherty (University of Glasgow (GB)) Georgios Sidiropoulos (University of Edinburgh (GB)) Gianluigi Casse (University of Liverpool (GB)) Helen Hayward (University of Liverpool (GB)) Ilya Tsurin (University of Liverpool (GB)) John Lipp (Science and Technology Facilities Council) John Matheson (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Joleen Pater (University of Manchester (GB)) Joseph Ashby (University of Glasgow (GB)) Kate Doonan (University of Glasgow (GB)) Kenneth Gibb Wraight (University of Glasgow (GB)) Michael Wormald (University of Liverpool (GB)) Prof. Philip Patrick Allport (University of Liverpool (GB)) Richard Bates (University of Glasgow (GB)) Stephan Eisenhardt (University of Edinburgh (GB)) Sven Wonsak (University of Liverpool (GB)) Thomas Mcmullen (University of Glasgow (GB))

Presentation materials