14-18 October 2013
Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

10Gbps TCP/IP streams from the FPGA for High Energy Physics

15 Oct 2013, 13:50
Verwey Kamer (Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage)

Verwey Kamer

Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage

Oral presentation to parallel session Data acquisition, trigger and controls Data Acquisition, Trigger and Controls


Petr Zejdl (CERN)


The CMS data acquisition (DAQ) infrastructure collects data from more than 600 custom detector Front End Drivers (FEDs). In the current implementation data is transferred from the FEDs via 3.2 Gbs electrical links to custom interface boards, which transfer the data to a commercial Myrinet network based on 2.5 Gbps optical links. During 2013 and 2014 the CMS DAQ system will undergo a major upgrade to face the new challenges expected after the upgrade of the LHC accelerator and various detector components. The interface to the FED readout links will be implemented with a custom card based on FPGAs. The Myrinet network will be replaced by a 10Gbps Ethernet network running a TCP/IP protocol. This allows us to reliably aggregate several streams at the destination. To limit the implementation complexity we designed a stripped down version of the TCP/IP protocol. We preserved the compliance with the RFC 793. Therefore we can use a PC with the standard Linux TCP/IP stack as a receiver. We present the hardware challenges and architectural choices made to the TCP/IP protocol in order to simplify its FPGA implementation. We also describe and discuss the interaction between hardware and software TCP/IP stacks. The performance measurements of the current prototype will be presented.

Primary author


Andre Georg Holzner (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Andrea Petrucci (CERN) Andrei Cristian Spataru (CERN) Dr Attila Racz (CERN) Aymeric Arnaud Dupont (CERN) Carlos Nunez Barranco Fernandez (CERN) Christian Deldicque (CERN) Christian Hartl (CERN) Christoph Paus (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Christoph Schwick (CERN) Christopher Colin Wakefield (Staffordshire University (GB)) Dominique Gigi (CERN) Emilio Meschi (CERN) Fabian Stoeckli (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Frank Glege (CERN) Frans Meijers (CERN) Gerry Bauer (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Dr Giovanni Polese (University of Wisconsin (US)) Hannes Sakulin (CERN) James Gordon Branson (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Jose Antonio Coarasa Perez (CERN) Konstanty Sumorok (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Lorenzo Masetti (CERN) Luciano Orsini (CERN) Dr Marc Dobson (CERN) Marco Pieri (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matteo Sani (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Olivier Chaze (CERN) Olivier Raginel (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Dr Remi Mommsen (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Robert Gomez-Reino Garrido (CERN) Samim Erhan (Univ. of California Los Angeles (US)) Sergio Cittolin (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Srecko Morovic (Institute Rudjer Boskovic (HR)) Ulf Behrens (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Vivian O'Dell (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL)) Wojciech Andrzej Ozga (AGH University of Science and Technology (PL))

Presentation Materials