14-18 October 2013
Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

O2: a new combined online and offline > computing for ALICE after 2018

15 Oct 2013, 16:45
Verwey Kamer (Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage)

Verwey Kamer

Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage

Oral presentation to parallel session Data acquisition, trigger and controls Data Acquisition, Trigger and Controls


Mr Pierre Vande Vyvre (CERN)


for the ALICE O2 Collaboration ALICE (A Large Ion Collider Experiment) is a heavy-ion detector studying the physics of strongly interacting matter and the quark-gluon plasma at the CERN LHC (Large Hadron Collider). After the second long shutdown of the LHC, the ALICE detector will be upgraded in order to make high precision measurements of rare probes at low pT, which cannot be selected with a trigger, and therefore require a large sample of events recorded on tape. The online computing system will be entirely redesigned to address the major challenge of sampling the full 50 kHz Pb-Pb interaction rate increasing by a factor 100 the present limit. This upgrade will also include the continuous un-triggered read-out of two detectors (ITS and TPC) producing a sustained throughput of 1 TB/s. This unprecedented data volume will be reduced by an entirely new strategy including the online calibration and reconstruction which will result in storing only the reconstruction results and discarding the raw data. This system, demonstrated in production on the TPC data since 2011, will have to be optimized for the online usage of reconstruction algorithms. It implies much tighter coupling between online and offline computing systems. We present in this paper the R&D program put in place to address this huge challenge and the first results of this program.

Primary authors

Mr Pierre Vande Vyvre (CERN) Predrag Buncic (CERN) Thorsten Kollegger (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE))


. Ananya (IIT - Indian Institute of Technology) Dr Aditi Udupa (IIT- Indian Institute of Technology) Adriana Telesca (CERN) Alexandru Grigore (Polytechnic University of Bucharest (RO)) Alina Gabriela Grigoras (CERN) Dr Andreas Morsch (CERN) Andrei Gheata (CERN) Anju Bhasin (University of Jammu (IN)) Dr Anshul AVASTHI (IIT- Indian Institute of Technology) Mr Barthelemy Von Haller (CERN) Basanta Kumar Nandi (IIT- Indian Institute of Technology (IN)) Camilo Lara (University of Heidelberg) Charles Delort (Ministere des affaires etrangeres et europeennes (FR)) Chiara Zampolli (Universita e INFN (IT)) Costin Grigoras (CERN) Costin Ionita (CERN) David Michael Rohr (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Dominic Eschweiler (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Ervin Denes (Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HU)) Falco Francesco Vennedey (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Filippo Costa (CERN) Mr Franco Carena (CERN) Gergely Barnafoldi (Wigner RCP Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HU)) Giuseppe Simonetti (Universita e INFN (IT)) Gyorgy Rubin (Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HU)) Heiko Engel (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Iosif Legrand (California Institute of Technology (US)) Dr Ivan Kisel (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) Dr Ivana Hrivnacova (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) Jan Marian Pluta (Faculty of Physics-Warsaw University of Technology) Jouri Belikov (Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien (FR)) Latchezar Betev (CERN) Lukasz Kamil Graczykowski (Warsaw University of Technology (PL)) Maciej Pawel Szymanski (Warsaw University of Technology (PL)) Malgorzata Anna Janik (Warsaw University of Technology (PL)) Marian Ivanov (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) Matthias Jakob Bach (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Matthias Kretz (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Mihaela Gheata (ISS - Institute of Space Science (RO)) Mirko Planinic (University of Zagreb (HR)) Nikola Poljak (Institute Rudjer Boskovic (HR)) Raffaele Grosso (University of Houston (US)) Mr Rishabh KHANDELWAL (IIT- Indian Institute of Technology) Roberto Divia (CERN) Ruben Shahoyan (CERN) Sadhana Dash (IIT- Indian Institute of Technology (IN)) Sebastian Kalcher (FIAS - Institute for Computer Science-Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Uni) Sergey Gorbunov (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Sylvain Chapeland (CERN) Timo Gunther Breitner (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Tivadar Kiss (Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HU)) Udo Wolfgang Kebschull (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE)) Ulrich Fuchs (CERN) Vasco Chibante Barroso (CERN) Vincent Claude Lafage (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) Volker Lindenstruth (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE))

Presentation Materials