15-20 June 2014
Laurentian University / Université Laurentienne
America/Toronto timezone
Welcome to the 2014 CAP Congress! / Bienvenue au congrès de l'ACP 2014!

Belle-II calorimeter endcap upgrade

17 Jun 2014, 10:30
C-309 (Laurentian University / Université Laurentienne)


Laurentian University / Université Laurentienne

Sudbury, Ontario
Oral (Student, In Competition) / Orale (Étudiant(e), inscrit à la compétition) Instrumentation and Measurement Physics / Physique des instruments et mesures (DIMP-DPIM) (T1-2) Testing Fundamental Symmetries III - DNP-DTP-PPD-DIMP / Tests de symétries fondamentales session III - DPN-DPT-PPD-DPIM


Alexandre Beaulieu (University of Victoria)


The improvement of the electromagnetic calorimeter endcap is the primary hardware contribution of Canada to the Belle-II experiment. The very high luminosity and large associated backgrounds dictate technology improvements required to ensure the performance fulfills the physics needs, despite these backgrounds. Meeting those challenging requirements will be achieved by replacing the crystals with pure Cs-I as well as changing the photo-detection technology and designing new signal conditioning and signal processing electronics. Validation of those technology choices based on simulations estimating the background level and the detector response will be discussed. Providing proper beam background shielding is an important consideration, which is assessed concurrently. The optimal geometries and materials for those shields are determined from Geant4 detector simulations and must balance conflicting space and performance requirements without compromising the endcap mechanical structure. The overall mechanical integration of all components in the enclosure designed for the previous Belle iteration will also be presented.

Primary author

Alexandre Beaulieu (University of Victoria)


Andreas Warburton (McGill University (CA)) Christopher Hearty (University of British Columbia) Eddy Ji (University of British Columbia) Janis McKenna (Univeristy of British Columbia) Jean-Pierre Martin (Université de Montréal) Michael Roney (University of Victoria) Mr Nikolai Starinski (Université de Montréal) Prof. Paul Taras (Univertisé de Montréal) Dr Randy Sobie (University of Victoria (CA)) Robert Kowalewski (University of Victoria) Samuel Dejong (University of Victoria) Steven Robertson (McGill) Thomas Lueck (University of Victoria) Thomas Mattison (University of British Columbia)

Presentation Materials