15-20 June 2014
Laurentian University / Université Laurentienne
America/Toronto timezone
Welcome to the 2014 CAP Congress! / Bienvenue au congrès de l'ACP 2014!

Isotope shifts in 206-213Fr and 221Fr from the Francium Trapping Facility

18 Jun 2014, 09:45
FA-054+5+6 (Laurentian University / Université Laurentienne)


Laurentian University / Université Laurentienne

Sudbury, Ontario
Oral (Student, In Competition) / Orale (Étudiant(e), inscrit à la compétition) Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, Canada / Division de la physique atomique, moléculaire et photonique, Canada (DAMOPC-DPAMPC) (W1-6) Cold Atoms and Molecules - DAMOPC-DCMMP / Atomes froids et molécules - DPAMPC-DPMCM


Mr Robert Collister (University of Manitoba / TRIUMF)


The Francium Trapping Facility at TRIUMF has successfully commissioned a capture chamber and is in the process of completing a science chamber for weak interaction studies. We present recent isotope shift measurements of the 7S1/2 to 7P1/2 (D1) transition taken in the capture chamber by radiofrequency sideband spectroscopy. While isotope shifts in heavy elements are dominated by the field shift, caused by a change in nuclear charge radius, our new measurements are aimed at the extraction of another important and non-trivial contribution, the specific mass shift, which is sensitive to electron correlations. Thus we can benchmark predictions made from the atomic wavefunctions required for the interpretation of future francium parity non-conservation measurements. Taking our data along with literature 7S1/2 to 7P3/2 (D2) shifts in a King plot allows an extraction of the field shift constants ratio FD2/FD1 = 1.0520(10), comparing P3/2 and P1/2 electronic overlap with the nucleus. It also tells us the specific mass shift constants difference between these two transitions, SD2 - SD1(FD2/FD1) = 170(100) GHz amu.

Primary author

Mr Robert Collister (University of Manitoba / TRIUMF)


Dr Eduardo Gomez (Universidad Autonoma de San Luis Potosi) Dr Gerald Gwinner (University of Manitoba) Mr Jiehang Zhang (University of Maryland / TRIUMF) Dr John A. Behr (TRIUMF) Dr Luis A. Orozco (University of Maryland) Dr Matthew R, Pearson (TRIUMF) Michael Tandecki (TRIUMF (CA)) Dr Seth Aubin (College of William and Mary)

Presentation Materials