

Update of MPP mandate and membership

MPP meeting 21st of March 2014



Updated Mandate (draft)

The machine protection systems protect accelerator equipment of the LHC and its injector complex against uncontrolled release of energy stored in the magnet system and the particle beams while at the same time allowing for efficient operation.

The Machine protection Panel (MPP) shall - in conjunction with experts of the relevant equipment and operation teams -

- ensure the coherent integration of all relevant sub-systems into the machine protection systems of CERNs existing accelerator complex and its future upgrades
- approve all essential elements included in the machine interlock chain and address questions related to the dependability of the machine protection system
- verify the proper commissioning of all MPS sub-systems and define the safe operational envelope of the machine based on the state of the commissioning
- define procedures for the operation of the machine interlock systems and required diagnostic tools
- Identify, assess and document relevant failure scenarios of equipment systems and machine components and propose according mitigation measures
- specify functional requirements for additional protection systems to be developed, constructed and tested

The panel shall report to the LMC for all matters related to the LHC and to other relevant bodies for matters related to the injector complex (IEFC) and future upgrades (HL-LHC, FCC).



Proposed (new) Members

Collimation		Injection/Beam Dump		BI/BLM	
REDAELLI	Stefano (BE-ABP-HSS)	CARLIER	Etienne (TE-ABT-EC)	DEHNING	Bernd (BE-BI-BL)
BRUCE	Roderik (BE-ABP-HSS)	BRACCO	Chiara (TE-ABT-BTP)	HOLZER	Eva Barbara (BE-BI-BL)
VALENTINO	Gianluca (BE-ABP-HSS)	UYTHOVEN	Jan (TE-ABT-BTP)	ZAMANTZAS	Christos (BE-BI-BL)
				KALLIOKOSKI	Matti (BE-BI-BL)
EXP		OP		MPP	
WENIG	Siegfried (PH-ADO)	SOLFAROLI CAMILLOCCI	Matteo (BE-OP-LHC)	WENNINGER	Jorg (BE-OP-LHC)
JACOBSSON	Richard (PH-LBO)	POJER	Mirko (BE-OP-LHC)	WOLLMANN	Daniel (TE-MPE-PE)
DI MAURO	Antonello (PH-AID-DT)	PONCE	Laurette (BE-OP-LHC)	ZERLAUTH	Markus (TE-MPE-MS)
BACCHETTA	Nicola (PH-UCM)	PAPOTTI	Giulia (BE-OP-LHC)	CHETVERTKOVA	Vera (TE-MPE-PE)
DEILE	Mario (PH-TOT)	KAIN	Verena (BE-OP-LHC)		
FASSNACHT	Patrick (PH-ADO)				
EN/STI		BIS/PIC/WIC/FMCM/QPS		MPE	
LECHNER	Anton (EN-STI)	GABOURIN	Stephane (TE-MPE-EP)	PUCCIO	Bruno (TE-MPE)
		ROMERA RAMIREZ	Ivan (TE-MPE-MS)	SCHMIDT	Rudiger (TE-MPE-PE)
		DENZ	Reiner (TE-MPE-EP)	APOLLONIO	Andrea (TE-MPE-PE)
		STECKERT	Jens (TE-MPE-EP)		
QTAWG/MP3		RF/ADT		EPC	
SAPINSKI	Mariusz (BE-BI-BL)	BUTTERWORTH	Andy (BE-RF-CS)	MONTABONNET	Valerie (EPC)
VERWEIJ	Arjan (TE-MPE-PE)	HOFLE	Wolfgang (BE-RF)	TODD	Benjamin (TE-EPC-CCE)

No self-subscription to list



3/21/2014 Document reference

Proposed Info List

- Leave current entries (apart from departures) + add all names removed from member list +
 - LHC-EICs
 - LHC coordinators
 - Eva Calvo Giraldo, Enrico Bravin (BPMs and BSRT/AG)
 - Bettina Mikulec (Linac4)
 - Rhodri Jones (to complete all GLs of concerned groups)
 - 1 person from VAC and CRYO (tbd)
 - Thomas Ladzinski (Access)
 - Vincent Chareyre (EN/EL)
- Leave open for self-subscription





Current Mandate (last update in 2009)

The machine protection system shall protect all equipment of the LHC accelerator against uncontrolled release of energy stored in the magnet system and the beams. At the same time it must allow for efficient operation.

The main sub-systems for equipment protection are the quench protection system, the beam dump system, the beam loss monitor system and the collimation system. They need to be integrated and interfaced to other systems, such as the powering, beam instrumentation, RF, cryogenics, LHC experimental detectors, access, vacuum valves, injection elements, SPS as injector, etc. Interfaces between all systems for machine protection are via reliable links (machine interlock system) and via the control system.

The panel shall ensure a coherent integration of all those sub-systems into the machine protection system. The panel shall verify the proper commissioning of all MPS sub-systems. Based on the state of the commissioning and of the MPS test results the panel shall define the safe operational envelope of the LHC.

Taking into account operational phases and failure scenarios the panel shall define:

Input channels to the machine interlock system

Procedures for the operation of the machine interlock system and tools for diagnostic (enable powering, enable beam, post mortem recording, etc.)

Interfaces, either via hardware links, or via the control system

Specific hardware to be developed, constructed and tested

Software interlocks required for safe machine operation

The panel shall approve all essential elements that are included in the machine interlock chain and will address questions related to the reliability of the machine protection system.

The panel shall report to the LMC.



Current Members

MACINA Daniela (EN-MEF) **ALEMANY FERNANDEZ** Reyes (BE-OP-LHC) **MACPHERSON** Alick (BE-RF-SRF) Andrea (TE-MPE-PE) **APOLLONIO NEBOT DEL BUSTO** Eduardo (BE-BI-BL) Robert Barrie (BE-ABP) **APPLEBY PAPOTTI** Giulia (BE-OP-LHC) **ARDUINI** Gianluigi (BE-ABP) **PERROT** Anne-Laure (EN-MEF-LE) Ralph Wolfgang (BE-ABP-HSS) **ASSMANN** Mirko (BE-OP-LHC) **POJER BELLODI** Giulia (BE-ABP-HSL) PONCE Laurette (BE-OP-LHC) BHAT Pushpalatha (PH-UCM) **PUCCIO** Bruno (TE-MPE) **BRACCO** Chiara (TE-ABT-BTP) REDAELLI Stefano (BE-ABP-HSS) **BRUCE** Roderik (BE-ABP-HSS) ROMERA RAMIREZ Ivan (TE-MPE-MS) **BURKART** Florian (TE-MPE-PE) SALVACHUA Andy (BE-RF-CS) **BUTTERWORTH FERRANDO** Belen Maria (BE-ABP-HSS) CARLIER Etienne (TE-ABT-EC) **SCHMIDT** Burkhard (PH-DT-TP) Vera (TE-MPE-PE) CHETVERTKOVA Rudiger (TE-MPE-PE) SCHMIDT Anne (PH-CMX-DS) DABROWSKI **SOLFAROLI DEHNING** Bernd (BE-BI-BL) CAMILLOCCI Matteo (BE-OP-LHC) DENZ Reiner (TE-MPE-EP) STECKERT Jens (TE-MPE-EP) **GABOURIN** Stephane (TE-MPE-EP) **STICKLAND** David Peter (PH-CMX) Brennan (TE-ABT) **TODD** Benjamin (TE-EPC-CCE) **GORINI** Benedetto (PH-ADT-DQ) **UYTHOVEN** Jan (TE-ABT-BTP) **GUTHOFF** Moritz (PH-CMX-DS) **VENTURINI** HEIN Lutz Matthias (TE-MPE-PE) **DELSOLARO** Walter (BE-RF-SRF) **HOLZER** Eva Barbara (BE-BI-BL) Jorg (BE-OP-LHC) WENNINGER **JONKER** Michael (TE-MPE-PE) Daniel (TE-MPE-PE) **WOLLMANN KAIN** Verena (BE-OP-LHC) Christos (BE-BI-BL) ZAMANTZAS **LEVINSEN** Yngve Inntjore (BE-ABP-LAT) **ZERLAUTH** Markus (TE-MPE-MS)



3/21/2014 Document reference

Current Info List

APPLEBY	Robert Barrie (BE-ABP)		
BACCHETTA	Nicola (PH-UCM)		
BAER	Tobias (BE-OP)		
BAILEY	Roger (DG-DI-DAT)		
BARTMANN	Wolfgang (TE-ABT-BTP)		
BRUGGER	Markus (EN-STI-EET)		
BRUNING	Oliver (BE-ABP)		
CALVIANI	Marco (EN-STI-EET)		
COLLIER	Paul (BE)		
DEILE	Mario (PH-TOT)		
DI CASTRO	Mario (EN-STI-ECE)		
DI MAURO	Antonello (PH-AID-DT)		
ESPOSITO	Luigi Salvatore (EN-STI-EET)		
FERRO-LUZZI	Massimiliano (PH-LBD)		
GARNIER	Jean-Christophe (TE-MPE-MS)		
GUTHOFF	Moritz (PH-CMX-DS)		
HALL-WILTON	Richard (EN-STI)		
JACOBSSON	Richard (PH-LBO)		
JENSEN	Erk (BE-RF)		
JENSEN	Lars (BE-BI-SW)		
JONKER	Michael (TE-MPE-PE)		
KOZANECKI	Witold (PH-UAT)		
LAMONT	Mike (BE-OP)		
LECHNER	Anton (EN-STI-EET)		
LOSITO	Roberto (EN-STI)		

MARSILI MASI **NEBOT DEL BUSTO NORDT** Annika **PRIEBE SAPINSKI** SIEMKO STEIN **VERWEIJ WENIG** Siegfried (PH-ADO)

Aurelien (BE-ABP-HSS) Alessandro (EN-STI-ECE) Eduardo (BE-BI-BL) Agnieszka (BE-BI) Mariusz (BE-BI-BL) Andrzej (TE-MPE) Oliver (TE-MPE-PE) Arjan (TE-MPE-PE)

