Sep 12 – 17, 2010
Europe/Zurich timezone
The conference is now over. Thanks to all for their participation. <p> The talks from the various sessions are all online.

Beta-NMR measurement of Cu-58 in Si

Not scheduled
500/1-001 - Main Auditorium (CERN)

500/1-001 - Main Auditorium


CH - 1211 Geneva 23 Switzerland
Show room on map
POSTER Semiconductors, Metals and Insulators


Dr Mototsugu Mihara (Osaka University)


First result of the beta-NMR of 58Cu in Si


Contamination of silicon with copper impurities has been a longstanding problem in processing devices, which causes degradation of their performance because of the fast diffusivity and formation of deep levels in the band gap [1]. β-NMR studies with a short lived nucleus 58Cu(Iπ = 1+, T1/2 = 3.2 s) as a microscopic probe should be able to provide unique information on the mechanism of Cu diffusion and behavior of Cu-dopant complex (ex. Cu-B pair) in Si. In this report we present the first result on the β-NMR measurements of 58Cu in silicon.
A spin polarized 58Cu beam was produced through the charge exchange reaction of 58Ni with a Be target, using a 63A-MeV 58Ni beam provided by the K540 RIKEN Ring Cyclotron. The 58Cu nuclei emitted at angles in between 0.75° and 4.1° were separated by RIPS and implanted into a catcher sample of single crystalline Si (B doped) at 15 K. The β-ray yield from 58Cu was ~103 counts/s. The finite polarization of about 0.2% was observed and then the β-NMR spectrum for 58Cu in Si was obtained as shown in Fig. 1. The magnetic moment of 58Cu was determined to be (0.46 ± 0.03)μN which is in agreement with the recent results on the laser spectroscopy [2]. The spin lattice relaxation rate 1/T1 = (0.7 ± 0.6) s-1 for 58Cu in Si(B) was also obtained at 15 K. The present result has shown that the 58Cu nucleus is promising as a nuclear probe for the microscopic study of copper impurities in silicon.

Please specify whether you would prefer an oral or poster contribution. oral contribution

Primary author

Dr Mototsugu Mihara (Osaka University)


Akihiro Yoshimi (RIKEN) Akira Ozawa (University of Tsukuba) Daiki Nishimura (Osaka University) Daisuke Horikawa (Kochi University of Technology) Daisuke Nagae (University of Tsukuba) Hideki Ueno (RIKEN) Hiroto Oishi (University of Tsukuba) Isao Hachiuma (Saitama University) Kazuhiko Sato (Saitama University) Kazuhito Matsukawa (Renesas Technology Corp.) Kazunari Yamada (RIKEN) Kensaku Matsuta (Osaka University) Kohei Namihira (Saitama University) Koichiro Asahi (Tokyo Insititute of Technology) Koun Shirai (ISIR, Osaka Univerisity) Kunifumi Suzuki (Tokyo Insititute of Technology) Maya Takechi (RIKEN) Mitsunori Fukuda (Osaka University) Sadao Momota (Kochi University of Technology) Shinji Suzuki (Niigata University) Tadanori Minamisono (Fukui University of Technology) Takamasa Kuboki (Saitama University) Takashi Nagatomo (International Christian University) Takashi Ohtsubo (Niigata University) Takayuki Yamaguchi (Saitama University) Takeshi Suzuki (Saitama University) Takuji Izumikawa (Niigata University) Tetsuro Moriguchi (University of Tsukuba) Toru Kubo (Niigata University) Yoko Ishibashi (University of Tsukuba) Yoshikazu Hirayama (KEK) Yoshio Kobayashi (RIKEN) Yuichi Ichikawa (RIKEN) Yuichi Namiki (Niigata University) Yuta Ito (University of Tsukuba)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.