June 28, 2015 to July 2, 2015
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort
Etc/GMT-7 timezone

Cryogenic Considerations for Superconducting Magnet Design for the Material Plasma Exposure eXperiment

Jul 1, 2015, 9:00 AM
Exhibit Hall (Arizona Ballroom)

Exhibit Hall (Arizona Ballroom)

Poster Presentation CEC-06 - Superconducting Magnet Systems C3PoD - Superconducting Magnets Cryogenic Systems I


Robert Duckworth (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)


In order to determine long term performance of plasma facing components such as diverters and first walls for fusion devices, next generation plasma generators are needed. A Material Plasma Exposure eXperiment (MPEX) has been proposed to address this need through the generation of plasmas in front of the target with electron temperatures of 1-15 eV and electron densities of 1020 to 1021 m-3 [1]. Heat fluxes on target diverters could reach 20 MW/m2. In order generate this plasma, a unique radio frequency helicon source and heating of electrons and ions through Electron Bernstein Wave (EBW) and Ion Cyclotron Resonance Heating (ICRH) has been proposed. In support of this plasma generation, a series of magnets are needed with non-uniform central fields up to 2 T over a 5-m length in the heating and transport region and 2 T uniform central field over a 1-m length on a diameter of 1.3 m. Given the field requirements, superconducting magnets are under consideration for MPEX. In order to determine the best constructions for the magnets, the cryogenic refrigeration has been analyzed in comparison with commercially available magnet constructions to determine most economical method for MPEX operation with respect to cooldown and operation performance criteria. The current state of the MPEX magnet design including details on possible superconducting magnet configurations will be presented. [1] J. Rapp et al., Fusion Sci. Technol. 64 (2013) 237 *This manuscript has been authored by UT-Battelle, LLC under Contract No. DE-AC05-00OR22725 with the U.S. Department of Energy. The Department of Energy will provide public access to these results of federally sponsored research in accordance with the DOE Public Access Plan.*

Primary author

Robert Duckworth (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)


Dr Arnold Lumsdaine (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Dr John Caughman (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Jonathan Demko (LeTourneau University) Dr Juergen Rapp (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Dr Richard H Goulding (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Mr Thomas Bjorholm (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Mr W. Dean McGinnis (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.