Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB
July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

The On-Site Analysis of the Cherenkov Telescope Array

Aug 1, 2015, 3:30 PM
Mississippi Foyer (World Forum)

Mississippi Foyer

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 76
Poster contribution GA-EX Poster 2 GA


Fabian Schüssler (CEA)


The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) observatory will be one of the largest ground-based very-high-energy gamma-ray observatories. The on-site analysis will perform a first CTA scientific analysis of data acquired from the array of telescopes, in both northern and southern sites. The On-Site Analysis has two pipelines: the Level-A pipeline (also known as Real-Time Analysis, RTA) and the level-B one. The RTA performs a data quality monitoring and must be able of issuing automated alerts on variable and transient astrophysical sources within 30 seconds from the last acquired Cherenkov event that contributes to the alert, with a sensitivity not worst than the final one by more than a factor of 3. The Level-B Analysis has a better sensitivity (not be worse by a factor of 2) and should start within 10 hours from the acquisition of the data: for this reason this analysis could be performed at the end of an observation or next morning. The latency (in particular for the RTA) and the sensitivity requirements are challenging because of the large data rate, a few GByte/s. The remote connection to the CTA candidate site with a rather limited network bandwidth makes the issue of the exported data size extremely critical and prevents any kind of processing in real-time of the data outside the site of the telescopes. For these reasons the analysis will be performed on-site with infrastructures co-located with the telescopes, with limited electrical power availability and with a reduced possibility of human intervention. This means that the on-site hardware infrastructure should have low-power consumption. A substantial effort toward the optimization of high-throughput computing service is envisioned to provide hardware and software solutions with high-throughput, low-power consumption and at low-cost. This contribution provides a summary of the design of the on-site analysis and reports some prototyping activities.
Collaboration CTA
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 288

Primary author


Adriano De Rosa (INAF/IASF Bologna) Alessandro Carosi (INAF-ASDC) Alessandro Tacchini (INAF/IASF Bologna) Alessio Aboudan (INAF/IASF Bologna) Amanda Weinstein (Iowa State University) Andrea Zoli (INAF) Brian Humensky (University of Chicago) Catherine Boisson (Observatoire de Paris, LUTH, CNRS, Université Paris Diderot, France) Dr Denis Bastieri (Università di Padova) Domenico Beneventano (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Department of Engineering “Enzo Ferrari”, Strada Vignolese 905 - 41125 Modena (Italy)) Eleonora Torresi (INAF/IASF Bologna) Etienne Lyard (University of Geneva) Fabian Schüssler (CEA) Fulvio Gianotti (INAF) Gernot Maier (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Platanenallee 6, Zeuthen, Germany) Gino Tosti (Università di Perugia, Italy) Giovanni De Cesare (INAF/IASF Bologna) Giovanni Lamanna (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Giuseppe Malaguti (INAF/IASF Bologna) Igor Oya (DESY Zeuthen) Jean Jacquemier (Laboratoire d'Annecy-le-Vieux de Physique des Particules (LAPP)) Jerzy Borkowski (Copernicus Astronomical Center, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland) Jim Hinton (University of Leicester) Jon Dumm (IceCube) Juan José Rodríguez-Vázquez (Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas, Medioambientales y Tecnologicas, Madrid, Spain) Julian Osborne (Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leicester, United Kingdom) Jurgen Knodlseder (CESR) Karl Kosack (CEA Saclay) Luciano Nicastro (INAF/IASF Bologna) Lucio Angelo Antonelli (INAF) Lucy Fortson (Univ. + INFN Roma 1) Marc Ribo (Universitat de Barcelona, Institut de Ci\`ences del Cosmos, IEEC-UB, Barcelona, Spain) Martino Marisaldi (INAF/IASF Bologna) Matthias Fuessling (Institut fr Physik und Astronomie, Universität Potsdam, Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 24/25, D 14476 Potsdam, Germany) Nadine Neyroud (LAPP/CNRS) Paola Grandi (INAF/IASF Bologna, Italy) Pep Colomé (Institut de Ciències de l'Espai (ICE-CSIC) & Institut d'Estudis Espacials de Catalunya (IEEC), Spain) Dr Peter Wegner (DESY) Phil Evans (Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leicester, United Kingdom) Raquel De los Reyes (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, P.O. Box 103980, D 69029 Heidelberg, Germany) Ricardo Graciani Diaz (University of Barcelona (ES)) Rico Lindemann (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Platanenallee 6, D-15738 Zeuthen, Germany) Sara Buson (Dipartimento di Fisica, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy) Saverio Lombardi (INAF) Sera Markoff (University of Amsterdam) Simon Rosen (Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leicester, United Kingdom) Sonia Bergamaschi (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Department of Engineering “Enzo Ferrari”, Strada Vignolese 905 - 41125 Modena (Italy)) Stefan Ohm (DESY) Susumu Inoue (Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo) Thierry Le Flour (Laboratoire d’Annecy-le-Vieux de Physique des Particules, Université de Savoie, CNRS/IN2P3, France) Valentina Fioretti (INAF/IASF Bologna) Vincenzo Testa (INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma, Italy) Vito Conforti (INAF IASF Bologna)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.