July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Nuclei charge measurement with AMS-02 Silicon Tracker

Jul 30, 2015, 3:30 PM
Amazon Foyer (World Forum)

Amazon Foyer

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 245
Poster contribution CR-EX Poster 1 CR


Mrs Stefania Vitillo (Universite de Genève)


The Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS-02) is an astroparticle physics detector installed on the International Space Station (ISS) on May 16th 2011 during the STS-134 NASA Endeavour Shuttle mission. The purpose of the experiment is to study with unprecedented precision and statistics charged particles and nuclei in an energy range from 0.5 GeV to few TeV. The AMS-02 Tracker System accurately determines the trajectory and absolute charge (Z) of cosmic rays by multiple measurements of the coordinates and energy loss in nine layers of double sided silicon micro-strip detectors. This energy loss is proportional to the square of the particle charge thus allowing the distinction between different nuclei. The analog readout and the high dynamic range of the front end electronics allows to identify nuclear species from hydrogen up to iron and above. The charge resolution is naturally degraded by a number of detector effects that need to be correctly accounted for. In this contribution we describe the procedure that has been used to accurately calibrate the Tracker response and optimize its performances in terms of charge resolution. We will discuss the resulting analysis methods available to identify different particle species in the tracker, and present the overall measured performances.
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 929
Collaboration AMS

Primary author

Mrs Stefania Vitillo (Universite de Genève)


Alberto Oliva (Centro de Investigaciones Energ. Medioambientales y Tecn. - (ES) Bruna Bertucci (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Carlos Jose Delgado Mendez (CIEMAT) Cecilia Pizzolotto (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Divic-Jean Rapin (Section de Physique) Domenico D'Urso (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Emanuele Fiandrini (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Evgueni Choumilov (ITEP Institute for Theoretical and Experimental Physics (RU)) Federico Donnini (Universita e INFN (IT)) Francesco Nozzoli (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Jose Luis Bazo Alba (Universita e INFN (IT)) Kanishchev Konstantin (University of Warsaw) Maria Ionica (Universita e INFN (IT)) Marion Assia Habiby Alaoui (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Marta Crispoltoni (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Prof. Martin Pohl (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Matteo Duranti (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Maura Graziani (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Mercedes Paniccia (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Nicola Tomassetti (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Paolo Zuccon (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Philipp Azzarello (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Pierre Erwan Saouter (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Roberto Battiston (Universita e INFN (IT)) Sadakazu Haino (Academia Sinica (TW)) Valerio Formato (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Vincenzo Vitale (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Vitaly Choutko (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Xiaoting Qin (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Zhan Zhang (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) giovanni.ambrosi@pg.infn.it

Presentation materials