July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

A study of radio frequency spectrum emitted by high energy air showers with LOFAR

Aug 1, 2015, 3:30 PM
Amazon Foyer (World Forum)

Amazon Foyer

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 199
Poster contribution CR-EX Poster 2 CR


Dr Laura Rossetto (Radboud University Nijmegen)


The LOw Frequency ARay (LOFAR) is a multipurpose radio antenna array aimed to detect radio signals in the frequency range 10$-$240 MHz, covering a large surface in Northern Europe with a higher density in Northern Netherlands. The detection of the radio signal emitted by cosmic ray induced air showers allows to reconstruct the geometry of the observed cascade. Thus, several properties of primary particles (e.g. arrival direction, mass composition) can be inferred. We describe a study of several geometrical parameters of the radio signal emitted by extensive air showers propagating in the atmosphere, and their correlation with the observed radio frequency spectrum. In order to find the best parameters which describe the correlation between primary cosmic ray information and the emitted radio signal, a cross-check between real data and simulations has been done. Regarding real data, cosmic ray radio signals detected by LOFAR since 2011 have been analyzed. For the simulation of the radio signals, the CoREAS code, a plug-in of the CORSIKA particle simulation code, has been used. The final aim of this study is to find a method to infer information of primary cosmic rays in an independent way from the well-established fluorescence and surface detector techniques, in view of affirming the radio detection technique as reliable method for the study of high energy cosmic rays.
Collaboration -- not specified --
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 0085

Primary author

Dr Laura Rossetto (Radboud University Nijmegen)


Dr Anna Nelles (Radboud University Nijmegen) Arthur Corstanje (Radboud University Nijmegen) Gia Trinh (KVI-CART, University of Groningen) Prof. Heino Falcke (Radboud University Nijmegen) Mr J. Emilio Enriquez (Radboud University Nijmegen) Jörg Hörandel (Ru Nijmegen/Nikhef) Dr Jörg Rachen (Radboud University Nijmegen) Olaf Scholten (KVI-CART, University of Gröningen) Pim Schellart (R) Sander ter Veen (ASTRON) Satyendra Thoudam (Radboud University) Stijn Buitink (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)) Mr Tjis Karskens (Radboud University Nijmegen)

Presentation materials