Jun 13 – 19, 2015
University of Alberta
America/Edmonton timezone
Welcome to the 2015 CAP Congress! / Bienvenue au congrès de l'ACP 2015!

Test beam performance measurements of novel Thin Gap Detectors for the ATLAS experiment upgrade.

Jun 17, 2015, 9:15 AM
CCIS L1-140 (University of Alberta)

CCIS L1-140

University of Alberta

Oral (Student, In Competition) / Orale (Étudiant(e), inscrit à la compétition) Particle Physics / Physique des particules (PPD) W1-5 Energy frontier: Future developments (PPD) / Frontière d'énergie: développements futurs (PPD)


Sebastien Rettie (University of British Columbia (CA))


The planned luminosity increase of the LHC will allow the precise measurement of Higgs boson properties and extend the search for new physics phenomena beyond the standard model. To maintain excellent detection and background rejection capability in the forward region of the ATLAS detector, part of the muon detection system is scheduled to be upgraded during the LHC long shutdown period of 2018-2020. Thin Gap Chambers (TGC) will make up part of this new ATLAS muon small wheel. Results from the testing of a prototype thin gap chamber at the Fermilab and CERN test beam facilities will be presented.

Primary author

Sebastien Rettie (University of British Columbia (CA))


Alain Bellerive (Carleton University (CA)) Alam Ismael Toro Salas (Federico Santa Maria Technical University (CL)) Aleksander Vdovin (Israel Institute of Technology (IL)) Andree Robichaud-Veronneau (McGill University (CA)) Benoit Lefebvre (McGill University (CA)) Bernd Stelzer (SFU Simon Fraser University (CA)) Brigitte Vachon (McGill University (CA)) Camille Belanger-Champagne (McGill University (CA)) Daniel Mori (SFU Simon Fraser University (CA)) Estel Perez Codina (TRIUMF (CA)) George Mikenberg (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Gerardo Alexis Vasquez Arenas (Federico Santa Maria Technical University (CL)) Hadar Cohen (Tel Aviv University (IL)) Heberth Jesus Torres Davila (SFU Simon Fraser University (CA)) James Michael Botte (Carleton University (CA)) Lea Gauthier (Universite de Montreal (CA)) Mr Meir Shoa (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Merlin Davies (Tel Aviv University (IL)) Nachman Lupu (Israel Institute of Technology (IL)) Oliver Stelzer-Chilton (TRIUMF (CA)) Pablo Augusto Ulloa Poblete (Federico Santa Maria Technical University (CL)) Pablo Walker Galdames (Pontificia Univ. Catolica de Chile (CL)) Serguei Kuleshov (ITEP Institute for Theoretical and Experimental Physics (RU)) Simon Viel (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US)) Stephen Albert Weber (Carleton University (CA)) Thomas Koffas (Carleton University (CA)) Vladimir Smakhtin (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Yan Benhammou (Tel Aviv University (IL))

Presentation materials