22-29 July 2015
Europe/Vienna timezone

Toward a hyperfine splitting measurement of antihydrogen

Jul 25, 2015, 12:05 PM


talk Flavour Physics and Fundamental Symmetries Flavour Physics and Fundamental Symmetries


Martin Simon (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


The formation of antihydrogen opens a new avenue toward precise matter-antimatter symmetry studies through atomic spectroscopy techniques. The ASACUSA collaboration is pursuing an experiment to measure the ground-state hyperfine splitting of antihydrogen in a polarized beam [1]. For hydrogen this transition has been measured in a beam and with a maser reaching a relative precision of 4 × 10e−8 [2] and 10e−12 [3], respectively. Recently, the first observation of antihydrogen atoms arriving 2.7m downstream of the formation region in a field-free environment has been reported [4]. During the subsequent shutdown of CERN, a source of cold polarized hydrogen atoms was built and experiments were performed to characterize the spectroscopy apparatus with a hydrogen beam. Now the complete apparatus for antihydrogen spectroscopy has been assembled and operated during a short experimental run. The latest status of the antihydrogen hyperfine splitting experiment will be presented including the results of the hydrogen beam experiment, which confirm the high precision and accuracy of our recently developed spectroscopy apparatus. With this device ground state hyperfine spectroscopy at a fractional precision on the few ppb level has been demonstrated very recently.

additional information

[1] E. Widmann et al., Hyperfine Interact. 215 1 (2013).

[2] A. G Prodell and P. Kusch, Physical Review 88 184 (1952).
[3] H. Hellwig et al., IEEE Trans. Instr. Meas. IM 19 200 (1970), L. Essen et al., Nature 229 110 (1971).
[4] N. Kuroda et al., Nature Communications 5 3089 (2014).

Primary author

Martin Simon (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


Aaron Allan Capon (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Balint Radics (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Bernadette Kolbinger (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Chikato Kaga (Hiroshima University (JP)) Chloe Malbrunot (CERN) Clemens Sauerzopf (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Daniel James Murtagh (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Eberhard Widmann (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Evandro Lodi-Rizzini (Universita di Brescia & INFN (IT)) Hiroyuki Higaki (Hiroshima University (JP)) Hiroyuki Torii (University of Tokyo (JP)) Horst Breuker (CERN) Johann Zmeskal (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Ken Suzuki (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Luca Venturelli (Universita di Brescia (IT)) Marco Leali (Universita di Brescia (IT)) Martin Diermaier (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Minori Tajima (University of Tokyo (JP)) Naofumi Kuroda (University of Tokyo (JP)) Oswald Massiczek (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Pierre Dupre (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Sebastian Lehner (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Shoichiro Ishikawa (University of Tokyo (JP)) Simon Van Gorp (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Stefan Ulmer (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Valerio Mascagna (Universita di Brescia (IT)) Yasunori Yamazaki (RIKEN (JP)) Yasuyuki Kanai (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Yasuyuki Matsuda (University of Tokyo (JP)) Yoshitaka Higashi (University of Tokyo (JP)) Yugo Nagata (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology (JP)) Yuhei ABO (RIKEN (JP))

Presentation materials