CMS Data Analysis School

Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Korea

Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Korea


Registration for the CMS Data Analysis School (CMSDAS)  at Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Korea.  (25 - 29, 2015) is now open via this indico page. The registration fee for the school is $270 for early registration and $300 for late registration   Space is limited so sign up for CMSDAS@ KNU today!

CMS members from all regions are welcome to attend CMSDAS@LPC

The CMSDAS@KNU Local  Organizing Committee Chairs:

Guinyun Kim


More  info about CMSDAS can be found below:

CMSDAS is designed to help CMS physicists from across the collaboration to learn, or to learn more, about CMS analysis and thereby to participate in significant ways in any physics analysis including future discoveries. It enables physicists beginning analysis to easily join an ongoing analysis in a productive way.   Since 2012, our first global year, schools were held at FNAL, Pisa, Taipei, DESY, and Kolkata. More than 400 CMS students have now participated in the program. The format for each CMSDAS is very similar and some of the same facilitators attend each school.

A few key components of the  CMSDAS School are  required “homework”,  assigned to registrants prior to attending the school  and the sessions during the workshop whicl emphasize "hands on" work with CMS data. Each school starts with a morning devoted to inspirational plenary talks.  The essential features of the school are the execution of a series of short and long exercises.

Prior to the school, attendees are required to complete a list of pre-exercises in order to be able to tackle more realistic problems at the tutorial sessions. There include for example,  introducing CMSSW, DBS, fitting, etc. which ensures a fast start at the event.

The short exercises (several hours duration) cover all of the objects from jets to muons and many techniques from event generators to setting upper limits occur during the first half of the school. In the second half of the school detailed physics measurements are performed with the CMS data set (the long exercises) in a 2.5 day intensive period by focused teams of about 6-8 students. Both the short and long exercises are designed and facilitated by teams of 2-3 CMS experts. Some long exercises go beyond the current state of the art of the corresponding CMS analysis. Thus providing opportunities to  get plugged in to a CMS measurement through a long exercise at the school and become a part of the CMS measurement team on the paper.

The CMS School's Committee:

Kai-Feng Chen (NTU)
Boaz Klima (FNAL)
Lothar Bauerdick (FNAL)
Sudhir Malik (Chair)(UPRM)
Fabrizio Palla (INFN)
Gigi Rolandi (CERN/Pisa)
Thomas Schoerner (DESY)
Claudia Wulz (Vienna)


  • Aashaq Hussain Shah
  • Amol Hindurao Jaikar
  • Ari Lee
  • Arif Ullah
  • Beomgon Kim
  • Binghuan Li
  • Byeong-hak Ko
  • Byoungjun Kim
  • Cilicia Uzziel Perez
  • Dajeong Jeon
  • Dong Ho Moon
  • Dongsub Lee
  • Dooyeon Gyun
  • Geonhee Oh
  • Geonmo Ryu
  • Guinyun Kim
  • Hammid Yusupov
  • Haneol Lee
  • Hwi Dong Yoo
  • Hyun-Soo Kim
  • Hyunchul Kim
  • Hyunyong Kim
  • Inkyu Park
  • Intae Yu
  • Jae Hoon Lim
  • Jae Sung Kim
  • Jaegyun Park
  • Jaeyong Lee
  • Jaeyun Choi
  • Jason Lee
  • Jeongeun Lee
  • Ji Hwan Bhyun
  • Junghwan Goh
  • Junho Kim
  • Junho Lee
  • Kai-Feng Chen
  • Khakimjan Butanov
  • Kisoo Lee
  • Kyeongpil Lee
  • Kyungwook Nam
  • Mingshui Chen
  • Minkyoo Choi
  • Minsuk Kim
  • Nackyoung Yang
  • Namgyun Jeong
  • Sang Il Park
  • Sangeun Lee
  • Sangwook Bae
  • Sehwook Lee
  • Seo Hyeon An
  • Seungkyu Ha
  • SeungWoo Seo
  • Sezen Sekmen
  • Sihyun Jeon
  • Songkyo Lee
  • Su Min Jeong
  • Su Yong Choi
  • Sungbin Oh
  • Syed Asif Raza Shah
  • Tae Jeong Kim
  • Waleed Esmail
  • Wen-Liang Huang
  • Yeon-Jae Jwa
  • Yeonjun Kim
  • Yi-Mu Chen
  • Yong Hoon Lee
  • Yongho Jeong
  • Youn Jung Roh
  • Young Gun Jeong
  • Young-Kwon Jo
  • Youngdo Oh