Jun 5 – 10, 2016
Padova, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

An FPGA-Based Track Finder for the L1 Trigger of the CMS Experiment at the High Luminosity LHC

Jun 9, 2016, 11:40 AM
Centro Congressi (Padova)

Centro Congressi


Oral presentation Real Time System Architectures and Intelligent Signal Processing RTA 1


Thomas Schuh (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))


A new tracking system is under development for operation in the CMS experiment at the High Luminosity LHC. It includes an outer tracker which will construct stubs, built by correlating clusters in two closely spaced sensor layers for the rejection of hits from low transverse momentum tracks, and transmit them off-detector at 40 MHz. If tracker data is to contribute to keeping the Level-1 trigger rate at around 750 kHz under increased luminosity, a crucial component of the upgrade will be the ability to identify tracks with transverse momentum above 3 GeV/c by building tracks out of stubs. A concept for an FPGA-based track finder using a fully time-multiplexed architecture is presented, where track candidates are identified using a projective binning algorithm based on the Hough Transform. A hardware system based on the MP7 MicroTCA processing card has been assembled, demonstrating a realistic slice of the track finder in order to help gauge the performance and requirements for a full system. This paper outlines the system architecture and algorithms employed, highlighting some of the first results from the hardware demonstrator and discusses the prospects and performance of the completed track finder

Primary authors

Thomas Owen James (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Thomas Schuh (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))


Alex Tapper (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Alexander Morton (Brunel University (GB)) Andrew William Rose (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Antoni Shtipliyski (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Christian Amstutz (Karslruhe Institute of Technology) Claire Shepherd-Themistocleous (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Prof. Dave Newbold (University of Bristol (GB) / Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)) Davide Cieri (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Emyr Clement (University of Bristol (GB)) Fionn Amhairghen Ball (University of Bristol (GB)) Geoff Hall (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Gregory Michiel Iles (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Ian Tomalin (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Dr Ivan Reid (Brunel University London (GB)) Jim Brooke (University of Bristol (GB)) Kirika Uchida (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Konstantinos Manolopoulos (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Kristian Harder (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Luigi Calligaris (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Marc Weber (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Mark Pesaresi (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Matthias Norbert Balzer (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Oliver Sander (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Paschalis Vichoudis (CERN) Peter Hobson (Brunel University (GB)) Sioni Paris Summers (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Sudarshan Paramesvaran (University of Bristol (GB)) Takashi Matsushita (Imperial College) Tanja Renate Harbaum (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))

Presentation materials