DPF Secretary/Treasurer Report

DPF Business Meeting
Wayne State
July 29, 2009

DPF EC members

The 12 DPF EC members (2009)

Past Chair: Bob Cahn

Chair: Boris Kayser

Chair-elect: Chip Brock

Vice Chair: Patty McBride

> Secretary/Treasurer: Al Goshaw

Division Councilor: Janet Conrad

> Members at large: Cecilia Gerber and Andreas Kronfeld

JoAnne Hewett and Ritchie Patterson

Kevin Pitts and David Saltzberg

For contact information see the DPF web site at:

http://www.aps.org/units/dpf/governance/officers/index.cfm

DPF EC Elections

- EC members are selected via an annual election in October for terms starting on January 1, 2010
- This year the members to be elected are:
 - Vice Chair
 - Secretary/Treasurer
 - > Division Councilor
 - > Two members at large
- Nominations come from a DPF Committee (Sacha Kopp (Chair), Dan Akerib, Roy Briere, Daniela Bortolette, Csaba Caski, David Lissauer)
 - Also, nominations are welcome from DPF members with a petition supported by 20 people.

DPF Finances

- The DPF account is managed by the APS with monthly reporting of expenditures and income
 - Current balance (June 1, 2009) = \$181K
 - Funding sources (~\$40K annual income):
 - APS and DPF dues and other meeting revenues
 - NSF grants
 - interest on deposits at 5.5%.
 - > Expenditures:
 - student travel to APS meetings
 - travel for trips to Washington
 - DPF Newsletter and other communications
 - additions to DPF Prize endowments
 - support of education initiatives
 - DPF sponsored social events at APS meetings
 - EC meetings

DPF Prizes

- The DPF awards three Prizes and one Thesis Award each year.
 Nominations due July 1 for following year's Prize
 - W.K.H Panofsky Prize in experimental particle physics
 - Aldo Menizione and Luciano Ristori in 2009
 - > J.J. Sakurai Prize for theoretical particle physics
 - John Collins, Keith Ellis and Davison Soper in 2009
 - Robert R. Wilson Prize for achievements in the physics of particle accelerators (joint with DPB)
 - Satoshi Ozaki in 2009
 - Mitsuyoshi Tanaka dissertation award in experimental particle physics (nominations due Oct. 1, 2009)
 - Ryan Patterson in 2009

Detailed information at http://www.aps.org/units/dpf/awards/index.cfm